We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice New Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice New Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms are a nice size and the bathrooms have a walk-in shower (no tub if you need one) and an interesting design with the sink outside of the bathroom.

The entire staff was very friendly and the hotel has a nice lobby with a free hot breakfast and coffee available all day. A couple of things about the hotel:

-There is currently no safe in the room
-The hotel is 6 floors and has two elevators (one was not working during our stay)
-The hotel is a 10 minute walk from South Station (if walking from South Station - walk over the bridge on Congress Street instead of Summer Street)
-The hotel is a very short walk from the Silver Line of the T (Courthouse Station) which connects to Logan and you can also walk to the Red Line at South Station
-The cell phone service in the hotel was very poor (the hotel is an old brick building)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebordcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    108
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
139
128
8
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Accommodating staff, great location less than a block away fromFlour Bakery and Barrington Coffee Roasters! Complimentary breakfast, business center and in room wireless, parking garage steps away from hotel entry. Walking distance to downtown...we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this newest Boston Hotel, Residence Inn, Seaport,Boston,Ma.Absolutly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in,old factory in the financial section of Boston,close to downtown and southstation. The rooms are very unique with high 12 foot ceilings,full kitchen,sitting area with pull out couch, flat screen TV,separated with bath and then king bedroom. All the help just couldn't do enough for you,desk clerk David explained how every one working there was part of putting the hotel together,bell boy, Michael. was so helpful getting us a cab to go over to Long Wharf for a sunset cruise. Free breakfast in the morning saved us a $25.00 breakfast bill,several restaurants are with in walking distance. The best thing I liked about the NEW hotel is you are away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but everything is just a few blocks over the bridge,making it so easy to get around,located just off Atlantic Ave. on Congress St. This is the place to stay on your next visit to Boston.

Room Tip: They are all new so every room is great, book early cause when this place is discovered it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeegan122569, Regional Vice President Sales at Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our new Boston Seaport hotel.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the property.
We hope that we will be the hotel of choice for years to come.
Please keep in touch through our website as we continue to make more improvements to this great new hotel.
Regards,
Mike Egan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a new hotel in a renovated old building. Love the historic feel, and the funky aspect that Marriott incorporated into this Residence Inn. The room layout is conducive to working during the day and a peaceful nights sleep. There is a comfortable sofa sleep in the living/work area - bathroom in the middle and bedroom at the back of the room - gives two private areas in one room. There is a combination of wood and carpeted areas which gives the room some interest and homey feeling. My room has a walk in shower, but no tub. The lobby area has plenty of room to work, eat, visit, etc. There is only one elevator working at this time, so there is a wait during busy times of the day. The rate seems high for a Residence Inn, but maybe this is a popular part of town - it seems to be convenient to a lot of areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went the first week it was open. The Seaport area has really developed into a nice place to visit/stay. The neighborhood was very safe and plenty of food/drink options all around. The Residence Inn has more of a loft/boutique feel - nice that they kept the historic feel and touches to the building rather than a tear down and rebuild. Staff was great and very friendly. Loved the brick walls and the rooms were very clean and again, had that loft feel. The lobby has a feel of a nice laid back hangout - the way it is decorated & has grouped seating areas, rather than one large open room - great for catching up with friends and hanging out. The atrium is a gem - tall ceiling right up to the glass roof. Beautiful original subway tiles and very modern, but casual feel. Breakfast was great the next morning. Plenty of options for all! We felt at home during our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last week much of Boston was sold out due to conventions and sporting events. At the last minute I luckily booked this brand new hotel near the financial area, it was a good move. It had opened literally the day before and it is a very unique property located not far from some great eating establishments near the up and coming seaport area. It is a short cab ride--10 minutes to Logan airport. The lobby was really hip and the rooms had nice decor. The staff was very attentive and arranged an early morning cab to catch a plane. Truly a nice hotel with a lot of history as a converted old building. Great job Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here during he first week that this hotel was open for business. For a Residence Inn, this one truly might be a trendsetter. It is uniquely decorated (mix of charming historic details with modern accents) and it felt as if we were at a boutique hotel rather than a chain. I was amazed at how well the hotel staff had it all together during the first week. They were all so friendly and efficient. I love the location of this hotel, as it is within walking distance to the downtown business district by day and walking distance to all the fun Seaport nightlife and activities. As far as location, for me this was the best of both workds. I enjoyed a brisk 10 minute walk to Quincy Market each day and always found something to do during down time. Close to the Aquarium, Children's Museum and The Boston Tea Party Museum. This is a good location for families as well as business minded travelers. I will be back.

Room Tip: Where comfy shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYlexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeegan122569, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our brand new hotel. We appreciate that you noticed how prepared we were to exceed your expectations. We are very proud of our newest hotel and look forward to providing the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport

Property: Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Address: 370 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing