We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it”

Trident Booksellers & Cafe
Ranked #179 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I liked it”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was in Boston on my own, and actually wandered in to buy a book and,as I hate eating alone at restaurants (I think the money and experience is wasted if it's just me scoffing my food down) I slid into to eat at the counter. The food was simple but tasty and reasonably priced for Boston. The waitress was personable, she was a drama major evidently so perhaps she was acting...I enjoyed the whole experience so much I came back again the next night to buy new books and eat again. I would have come back a third time but figured that would have been just silly or a little autistic. Definitely drop in if you are in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBaker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    149
    71
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would go again”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had breakfast at the cafe after an early morning flight to Boston. At first I was concerned because I walked in 3 minutes before they officially opened (door was open so I thought they were open) and after standing around for a while and everyone ignoring me someone yelled "3 minutes!!" So I took that to mean I should come back.

When I came back they were polite and attentive. Generous portions on the food. I was a bit surprised by the price but then I guess you are paying for a prime location. I would go back. I recommend going early as it fills up very quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peegfeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped by for a quick breakfast at the bar.

Scrambled eggs was pretty good, decent coffee.

Didn't really walk around to look. It was pretty quiet, 9am on a Friday morning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gymrat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Standards have dropped...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice in one week.. The first time with a friend the second on my own sat at the counter. I come here quiet down through the years and I feel that standards have dropped a lot of new staff who are not really interested a bit grumpy and very slow to serve. I had to ask
three times for a coffee refill before getting it.. Food was only warm when it arrived.

Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and books to boot”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fabulous breakfast. My stepdaughter loved the apple and Brie omelette. Good coffee, great staff very friendly and attentive even when busy. Fried egg sandwich with avocado is delicious. And great gifts and books kept the kids engaged until breakfast arrived.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleD773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trident Booksellers & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Trident Booksellers & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing