We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my third visit and it just get worse”

Jacob Wirth Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacob Wirth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #309 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: German, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Washington and Tremont
Description: We are a historic German Beer Hall offering Jacob Wirth's traditional hearty family recipes with all American favorites. We have trivia Monday nights from 5:30pm to 7pm and Piano Sing-A-Long's Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights 8pm-Close.
cork
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“my third visit and it just get worse”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

this is my third visit,
first visit i made allowances
second visit it was very busy .
third visit i wont be back.

very tight spaced everyone is on top of each other .
food average to poor and expensive for what you get
staff ....never mind the boston personality....they are just rude and offhand .

the place also is not very clean ..i have no problem with quaint ,or old fashioned but dirty i have a problem with .

there are far better ppace in boston than this all within a couple of blocks

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    192
    125
    57
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
392 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“not very good”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was so looking forward to a good German restaurant, but this isn't it. Huge beer list, but they were out of the first 4 we ordered. the food was somewhat bland, and the service was spotty. the piano player was the only good thing about the place. probably a good bar, but not a good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great relaxed German Bierstube”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Perfect for lunch or dinner,
German standards well prepared and presented-- sausages, scnitzels, sauerbraten, etc,and good selection of beers on tap in a lively beer hall

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place, average food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had dinner at Jake's with a large group in a Friday night. The place was packed, crowded and noisy. We were next to the piano player, so got the benefit(?) of his playing and dinner guest's singing. Service was good considering the crowd, but most of our meals were only average.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Forest306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Piano Bar”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place, I really did. Went for the piano sing along. We were seated in the corner by the exit and could not see the piano at all. There was so much noise I couldn't hear anyone singing, but I did hear bits and pieces of the piano, not enough to figure the song. We are our meal, which was fine, but not worth the trip into Boston. The menu items I had picked out on the Internet menu were not available. Once we finished we figured we would move over to the bar and join the sing a long. Except, nobody was singing. It was just the piano player playing. He wasn't even singing. Bottom line...if you're in the city, want decent food at a reasonable price and appreciate a good beer menu it's a good place, but if you plan on enjoying the sing a long cross it off your bucket list

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob Wirth Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jacob Wirth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing