We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, fantastic sandwiches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuel America

Fuel America
Ranked #42 of 211 Coffee & Tea in Boston
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fantastic sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stopped in for lunch as we were in the area. The cafe is big and spacious and feels very relaxed and friendly. The branding is just fantastic and I love the way it quietly feeds into every aspect of the signage, decor, furniture and menu.

But for me the best aspect was the menu which, as well as the standard coffees and teas and pastries, included some really innovative cold drinks and interesting sandwich options. The actual product lived up to the promise of the descriptions - I had the Mint Aid to drink which was so refreshing with really well-balanced flavours - the sandwiches had a generous filling of really high quality ingredients.

I wish Fuel America was round the corner from my house rather than in another country - although I suspect that my husband and I would end up spending most of our spare time there if it was.

There is parking right beside the building.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunderlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Coffeehouse, Local Ingredients, Great Brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Fuel America is very unassuming from the outside, but in fact it represents the best in independent coffeehouses. The interior is a very clean, modern, minimalist. The coffee is fantastic. The food is really good too, especially for a coffee place. The staff is friendly if you factor in the young hipster dynamic (ironic detachment may be off-putting if you take it personally). It's also a nice quiet atmosphere with lots of seating. 100% recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great addition to the neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great coffee, great vibe, little pricey!

This place is a great addition to the neighborhood! Their coffee is very good, stronger than dd but less than sbux.

Their sandwiches are great as well. Only complaint would be that it gets packed on weekends with kids studying.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Relax, Refuel, Reviewed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great food, drinks, and folks. Go to items: mocha latte, garden pan omelette sandwich with Siracha mayo, honey & ricotta on wheat.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaithaibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“New Brighton Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Finally made it to this lovely cafe - it opened in August, but today is my first visit. I've already decided it will be my new Sunday work spot. The staff works as a great team, and if anything happens to be a little slower than a fast-food joint, they are more than apologetic. When it got a little chilly, someone made it around with complimentary cups of their amazing tomato basil bisque (honestly, the best tomato soup I've ever had). The rest of their food is fantastic and made with fresh, mostly local ingredients, and some delicious homemade bread. Truly the best experience I've ever had at a cafe, local or otherwise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel America also viewed

 

Been to Fuel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing