We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food and local beer”
Review of Granary Tavern

Granary Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Granary Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Surface Road
Transit: The closest T stops are the Blue Line (Aquarium Station) and State Street.
Description: In search of a sun soaked patio, a truly unique dining experience or just an engaging place to socialize, the Granary Tavern on the Greenway is the answer. A place where rustic and modern elements meld seamlessly to create a casually-stylish environment.Located at the end of Milk Street, the newest addition to the Glynn Hospitality Group portfolio of restaurants and iconic hotspots is certain to impress. Making its home in the Charles Bulfinch designed building constructed in 1816, this 250 seat restaurant has two floors, two bars, exposed kitchen, patio, and panoramic al fresco style windows.The informal and welcoming atmosphere is reaffirmed with the gastronomic offerings. Locavore’s will relish the fact there is an emphasis on Slow Food principles, fresh seafood, farmer’s market produce and dynamic presentations. There is a focus on healthy preparations and locally sourced ingredients; simple comfort food concepts enhanced by contemporary accompaniments.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Local food and local beer”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Whenever we are in Boston we have lunch at the Granary. Their food is local, and their beer selection is too. We enjoy the upstairs bar, small but cozy. The service is friendly and attentive. Compared to other spots in Boston, this one offers excellent value in a wonderful casual atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turnturn02159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    234
    81
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for drinks”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Granary is a great place for drinks and get togethers. The decor is unique and cool, plus there are a lot of windows. There's lots of space and the beers aren't too expensive. Servers are really nice and helpful!

Tip - gets pretty busy with the after work crowd from the Financial District, so plan ahead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deebee16384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great kids-friendly restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went in for lunch with my 3 kids which are very picky. The place itself is nicely designed and is very spacious. The service was attentive, courteous and relaxed in the good sense. They have kids drawing boards which kept the kids busy and entertained throughout the whole time. The attention to details is noticeable - they even have a small stool at the bathroom to let kids reach the faucet.

The restaurant is very conveniently located across the street from the New England Aquarium, making this restaurant the perfect place for eating right after visiting the Aquarium.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great WEDGE!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It has been almost a month and I keep talking about the wedge and the clam chowder which was Gluten Free!!! loved this place the wedge had chunks of bacon and a homemade ranch dressing. The kids menu was fine but the cool part was it was on the back of an old school Etch E Sketch, which rocked!!! my son who is used to an ipad didn't know what to do with it so fun to watch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lambsidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Get the burger with egg and bacon, it was incredible! We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon, a busy day with St. Paddy's celebrations occuring that day. We were seated quickly and our waitress was great. One of us had the burger and we all had a bite and wished we had all ordered that! Two of us had the chicken and waffles which was an amazing dish, my only complaint was that my chicken was dry, but the crust was delicious and the dish itself was tremendous with a honey maple syrup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granary Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Granary Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing