We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Italian dining so close to home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delfino Restaurant

Delfino Restaurant
Ranked #136 of 3,112 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West Roxbury / Hyde Park / Roslindale
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stellar Italian dining so close to home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Consistently high quality, simple, delicious food worth the price. Every meal we've had here was delicious and we'd order again. Possibly the best calamari I've ever had!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Above anything in the North End!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This small (seats approx. 40) restaurant, wedged in between an ethnic market and flower store, is one of the BEST in Boston. The menu is essentially Italian- but don't expect spaghetti and meatballs! Chicken Parm and the Bolognese are OUT OF THIS WORLD, the pork tenderloin in melt in your mouth tender, crusted Swordfish is perfect... never a bad meal. The Capresse Salad, which is seasonal, is incredible-- tomatoes with flavor and creamy mozzarella that is tasty and just firm enough to cut. Indulge in the Chocolate Bread Pudding or Canolli for dessert-- you will not be disappointed! Beer and Wine only, and no reservations, so arrive early!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delfino's Rivals Any Restaurant in the North End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great food! Authentic, fresh, great value and service. Best of all not parking headaches and easy to get to. I've never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Delfinos is the BEST Italian Restaurant Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Delfinos is hands down the best restaurant I have ever been to. The Chicken Parm is amazing and all the meals are amazing. The portion sizes are amazing and the food is cooked to perfection.You can order pasta, seafood, and steak and you will be satisfied with all. Michael and all the wait staff are amazing and the atmosphere is great. Steven the owner and Joanne the head chef truly have made this into the best restaurant and its getting the recognition it should. I believe all should eat at this restaurant because it is amazing and one of a kind.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've eaten here twice now and loved it. A few days ago we were a larger group and ordered calamari, bruschetta and tomatoes/mozarella/prosciutto appetizers, each one delicious. Calamari were crisp and tasty, the tapenade that came with them was perfect. Bruschetta was crunchy and deliciously dressed. And there was a small fist worth of mozarella that was fresh and tender and really tasty. We had some entrees from the menu and some specials - each was great and while we thought we'd take some food home (the portions are generous) we weren't able to stop until there was nothing more on our plates. We tried two desserts - the chocolate bread pudding and tiramisu. Again, portions sized for sharing and wonderful flavors and texture. Tiramisu is firmer than the original and I think has a layer of chocolate or something non-standard in it but is delicious nonetheless. The servers are friendly and polite, staying on top of things despite the busy restaurant. We will most definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Delfino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing