We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem tucked away in Eastie!”
Review of Mario's Restaurant

Mario's Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Boston / Logan Airport
Revere, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem tucked away in Eastie!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was really a treat! The Owner was our server, and the service matched the incredible food. Came here for a "date night" with my husband and we were both very impressed with both our dinner and the service we recieved. We can see ourselves becoming regular customers!! The ravioli was outstanding and the meatball that came with it was full of flavor and super moist. I'm not sure how I had room for desert, but I tried the tiramisu... DIVINE! I've been telling everyone I know they need to check this place out!! Can't wait to go back again soon! This would be a great place for family dinners and dates, not super fancy, but the warm environment is very welcoming and comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcortave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    35
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Ursula, the owner continues to provide excellent service and food after 30 years in business. This was a recommendation from our hotel and it was great. Great way to settle in after a day of traveling. Try it...it's traditional Italian and very good!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“North End in East Boston”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by friends that live in East Boston. This is a true neighborhood place and is not fancy by any means. We were warmly greeted by the staff who we believe have worked at this spot for quite a while. We were promptly given nice chewy/crusty Italian bread with olive oil. We dressed up the oil with pepper, salt and cheese that were on the table. Salads arrived and were your typical iceburg mixture and looked a little sad. I did like the oil/vinegar dressing. My husband had the chicken parm that looked yummy. Very thin with a crunchy outside and moist chicken inside. His also had a serving of ziti with sauce. I had the shrimp scampi that was very good. The linguini was cooked perfectly and the butter/garlic sauce was delicious. Good portions and we brought some home. Overall, not fancy but comfortable and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinrac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great recommendation from our hotel and it definitely was worthy of their praise. Great, homestyle cooking make this gem of a restaurant in East Boston well worth the trip. Prices are reasonable and our dinner choices of Chicken Parmagiana and Lasagna with Meatballs included house salads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audra631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Immediately felt like I was in Italy. Food was excellent, as was the service. We had the lasagna, anti-pasto and shrimp on linguini.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjskau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing