We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great, some not so much.....”
Review of Figs

Figs
Ranked #749 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlestown
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Some great, some not so much.....”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food was great, the service was not. Once we were seated (rather quickly, which was good) and our drink order was taken, our waiter pretty much evaporated. When he came back, he took our order without writing it down, which is normally fine. Not for him. Figs had been recommended to us by a friend and the last thing she said was "dobn't forget to order the aspagarus!". We did. It never came. Now one of the two wait staff members who seemed to be waiting on us went back to the kitchen - twice - and never came back with an update - or the asparagus. So much for that. The salads were a bit over-dressed, but the pizza made up for it. It took several requests for refills on drinks,a nd 20 minutes to get the check. There was a line waiting at the door - you would think they would want to flip those tables! This was ouur first time. We will give it another shot, but keep our expectations in check.
You've got some good things going on here, Todd. Now fix the service piece, please?!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

fun little place with great food
delicious pizzas and salads. Met friends here for lunch on a very cold winter day. had a delicious soup and shared some very unique pizzas

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Attempted to go here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. Arrived to a full restaurant and only 1 waiter working. He was clearly overwhelmed as there were dirty tables with a line out the door. We steadily made our way to the front of the line due to people leaving out of frustration. It was pure chaos in the restaurant with diners trying to get his attention and pizzas lined up at the counter. After having him walk by us multiple times with 4-5 open tables, we finally asked when we could be seated. A rude "not now" was what we got in return. This place needs to hire a few more servers preferably with a clue how to do their job

Helpful?
Thank AAUte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really Underwhelming”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having a Groupon about to expire to redeem, the fiance and I made our way to Figs on a beautiful Saturday for some lunch. We arrived right around 12:30, parked up the street and walked into a deserted restaurant. There was only one table with 4 patrons and us. Standing there, in the front for a solid two minutes before a waitress finally appeared and greeted us. Shrugging it off, we hoped that their menu and the rest of the experience would help redeem their poor start. Unfortunately that was never the case...

Despite the restaurant being near empty and having only two tables to service, we were almost completely ignored. No apologies either, just a very careless staff member who barely seemed to care about the fact that we were here to eat. This was not to be expected from Todd English restaurant - we were kind of stunned to be honest but despite all of that we still powered through the frustrations and looked forward to some hopefully good pizza. That was lived short as our waitress screwed up our drink order and brought us regular root beers instead of diet ones. But that wasn't that big of a deal... We were mostly hungry.

I ordered the roasted beets salad ($10) which came sprinkled with some goat cheese. It was very average and the beets were inconsistently cooked. Some were very soft, other bites were hard and there was way too much dressing. My fiance's warm bacon and spinach salad ($8) was good but extremely salty. So far, not good...

We then decided to oder up some pizza since everyone on here seemed to claim that it was great - our waitress had told us earlier that we could pick two and they could make one pie with two different halves - we proceeded to do that and selected the fig and prosciutto one and the Bronx Bomber which is essentially a pepperoni one.

A little while later it arrived and the pizza's dough was chewy and not so great. As a matter of fact, the fig and prosciutto half was almost uneatable. Way, way, way too sweet from the balsamic and featuring absolutely no balance in the flavors and ingredients. There was barely any prosciutto but way too much fig. Just plain bad. The other half was much better but then again when is pepperoni pizza ever all that bad?

Honestly I feel betrayed by Yelp for this one. Everyone raved about it being some of the best (if not the best) pizza in Boston and I can honestly say that not only is the place sloppy, but the pizza isn't very good. I've had much better pizza at Santarpio's, Posto and Gran Gusto. Much, much better as a matter of fact. Better ingredients, better flavor balance and better value as well. This place doesn't just serve bad food, but they charge a lot as well.

Some part of me is going to regret not giving it one star but the fact remains that we still ate some of our food and it wasn't the worst experience of our life. However this was a major disappointment and add to the fact that the bathroom was absolutely disgusting and I can honestly say that I still never set food in there again. Todd English should be ashamed for having his name on that menu, and ashamed for running such a poor restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyKrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We decided to go to Figs as it was reviewed as worth a stop on a Boston app I downloaded. When we got there, they also had high chairs (which we needed with a 10 month old) so we went in. While we were there, the restaurant was pretty much empty. Only 2 other tables were full at the time and I think this is pretty rare. We did go at an off time, but with so many tourists, I figured it'd be busier. Anyway, the food was delish and the portions huge. There were no issues with loud music or anything like that. Our server was nice, not outstanding, but definitely not rude. I would absolutely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figs also viewed

 

Been to Figs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing