We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, but Decent Food and Good Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Doyle's Cafe

Doyle's Cafe
Ranked #41 of 3,189 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jamaica Plain
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not Great, but Decent Food and Good Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We took the trolley from the Sam Adams Brewery. It was a riot. The trolley driver is surely a shill for Doyle's, but who cares? The ride over was fun. And the food was fine. Not great, but better than many tourist places that I've paid a lot more at. If you order Sam Adams, you get a free laser-etched mug. Beautiful day, good times. No complaints.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    167
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“only good if you're drunk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have lived it Boston for 4+ years and decided to have lunch there based on the TA reviews. The place has character, but the food nothing to write home about. I had a grilled cheese sandwich with a thin slice of chedder and wheat bread. The fries were room temp, so I am sure they were previously cooked and just sitting under a heat lamp. The best part was the beer and I think the only reason people rate the food high is b/c everything taste better when you're drunk. The waitress was also not very friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Forest, WI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not sure about the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Heard a lot about Doyle's and it's clear the place has quite a bit of history to it -- just look at the worn floors and WW2 posters on the walls. That said, there was nothing over-the-top amazing about the experience. Glad I went as seemingly everyone has heard of the place but really not much more to it than that. The bar itself wasn't altogether that memorable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ragefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here after the Sam Adams brewery tour. The party trolley that took us here was great and the atmosphere is old Irish pub. Very authentic looking on the outside and inside is not disappointing. Considering how many people were coming over from the brewery, the wait was not long at all just a couple minutes. The food was reasonably priced and we loved getting our Sam Adams here served in the signature glass you can take home with you with your brewery ticket. The waitress was a little overwhelmed but it wasn't a problem. We had fun and a good meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kortnee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found the food to be good. I like the presentation of it. I came after my Sam Adams Beer tour through a trolley party.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doyle's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing