We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo's Cucina Italiana

Carlo's Cucina Italiana
131 Brighton Ave, Boston, MA 02134-2802 (Allston / Brighton)
617-254-9759
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 3,102 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this cozy Italian bistro in an unlikely place. I would have never found this spot if it were not chosen by a friend who dines there often.
The food at Carlos is excellent, the service was friendly and efficient and we left very full. I recommend the eggplant appetizer, the fresh antipasto and the chicken marsala. Everyone ate a different entree and there were no complaints.
Parking is a litle tough but worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A one night trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Three girlfriends and I shared a wonderful girls' night out at Carlo's last night. Our waiter, Gaetano, greeted us with his warm Sicilian salutations and that set the tone for the evening. After a delicious meal and a round (or two) of lemoncello, we were sad to leave our little Italian oasis. It was as if we had taken a one night trip to Italy.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Theryans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only Italian restaurant my Italian husband will dine at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband grew up in Naples and is extremely particular about his Italian food. Carlo's is the one and only Italian restaurant that he will go to. We have directed numerous people to Carlo's and everyone has been thrilled with the food, the atmosphere, the service. Bon appetito!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwedishSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
414 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A throwback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This cozy, homey place seems like it's from another era. On the Saturday night when I dined here, there appeared to be a mix of "regulars", young couples on dates, etc. The portions are hearty and reasonably priced. Pasta is tender, and the chicken parm was out of this world - delicately breaded and delicious. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, better than many in the North End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This family owned and operated Italian restaurant in the Allston/Brighton area is small and a little noisy but well worth a visit or two. The authentic Italian food is delicious and priced very well. Some of the pasta is hand made, and you can really tell the difference.

Parking is a little difficult, but there is a public lot about a block away near the liquor store.

The house made tiramisu is worth the trip alone.

Good spot for a first date.

Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minicooperdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlo's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing