We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #315 of 2,994 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love Thai food and am always looking for new Thai places to try. I haven't found anything that I like more than Brown Sugar. The place is a little more authentic in their offerings that many Thai places. That's not why I like it so much, but just some commentary. I've been there a half dozen times at least, have always ordered something different, and have always been really happy with my food. The atmosphere at the Fenway location is the best, but the place on Comm Ave is nice too. try the duck dishes. I've had a few different ones and they are all terrific.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlestown_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the Northeast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had the best lunch here. Highly recommend the yellow curry with duck and the drunk noodles with shrimp. We started with the Fenway salad and ended with the chilled lychees. Too much food but, to try it all. Service was relaxed and pleasant. Thai iced tea was delicious , hit with my daughter. We look forward to bringing the entire family back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“as good as in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant doesn't catch your eye from the exterior but it is really nice inside - optimal for a dinner with friends, family or your sweetheart. The servers are very attentive and nice and the food is just amazing: if you like very spicy go for the jungle curry. My favorites are the Panang Curry and the Green Curry and the starter plate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chani_a_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and a step above other food options on this block”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Close to BU and a few blocks from my favorite "restaurant row" in Allston, Brown Sugar has been a favorite Thai restaurnat for years. It is a good alternative to the fast food options in that block of Comm Ave. Easy take out options for neighbors and commuters.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Their curry is fantastic. Tons of options to choose from. A bit pricey but totally worth it. Good portion size.

Helpful?
Thank JerseyGrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#