We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food nice atmosphere”
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
Ranked #272 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good Thai food, lovely place to dine. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait. I would oorder spicier food next time

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    50
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Boston”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best thai food in boston. I recently went there for a friends birthday I had the seafood volcano and it was flawless. I have never ordered a dish at Brown sugars that wasnt delicious. Love this place best in Boston!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyddie_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Boston.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is on Commonwealth Ave populated by Boston University students. Food is excellent. I like the papaya salad but it has lots of garlic. The curries are good and you can ask for brown rice instead of white. Parking is on the street at meters. It is close to the large hockey stadium so it gets busy during game time or other events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKM1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Great Value”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were in town on a business trip and in the mood for Thai food, so we decided to have dinner at Brown Sugar. Located on Comm Ave by the BU West Campus, Brown Sugar has an inventive menu, terrific service, and is a great value. We started with some ribs which were sweet and fell off the bone. I had the Shrimp Scampi which had just the right heat level for me and a fabulous mix of vegetables and spices. My wife had the duck dish with pineapple, basil, and red bell pepper which she loved. The menu is extensive and priced to attract the BU students. Fabulous food and a great value....and terrific service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacAtlantaGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley, pa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took my son to lunch after dropping him off at Boston University. This little restaurant is walking distance from West Campus. We had a very spicy rice dish. He is vegetarian, so they had many options for vegetarians, and you can customize your dishes. The Fried Ice cream is amazing, and the tea is fantastic! Great service and pricing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cinpfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing