We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite!”

Trattoria Di Monica
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Di Monica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Salem
Transit: Haymarket North Station
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We try other places, but end up back at Monica's. It is a small restaurant, so be sure to make a reservation. It can be tight and loud, but the service and the food are outstanding. This is what the North End is all about!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eloquentone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    94
    28
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great dinner & service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We asked our Freedom Trail tour guide for a good spot in the North End and were directed to Monica's. It was the best meal we had in over a week in RI and MA. Some reviews knock it for being tight, but that was simply part of the charm of the place. The scallops with black fettuccine and special with sweet potato gnocchi & sweet Italian sausage were both excellent, as was the service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GBCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, wy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant walking through the north end. I was a little concerned at first as it is very tiny and there was a loud group next to us, but after 10 minutes it seemed to quiet down enough to enjoy conversation. Tried 3 different pasta dishes, 2 of which were specials, and they were all tasty and well cooked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Food is great - but oh so tight environs”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It wasn't hard to understand why it took until 8:40 to get our table when we had an 8:00 reservation: there aren't many tables, and seating is very tight. Couple that with a hugely popular spot, a big Saturday night crowd, and a couple that decided they wanted to sit and chat and, oh well. Understanding why and being happy about it, however, are a different thing. Fortunately, everything my family of four had was terrific. The pastas - of which there are many - that we had were outstanding. I had the spaghetti carbonara and my daughter the gnocchi. My wife's pasta special of pan seared scallops over risotto was also top notch. So for a great meal definitely go ... but be prepared to wait, and wait some more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“FAB”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I went in on a whim without a reservation, it was an hour wait in a sat night.
Enjoyed some wine at the bar while we waited and wow was is worth the wait.
The food was excellent. Egg and asparagus and the Prawns to start. For dinner we had the lamb rack and the pasta with prosciutto.service, atmosphere, It was all top notch. Glad we chose it:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Didi513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Di Monica also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Di Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing