We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!”
Review of The Daily Catch

The Daily Catch
Ranked #51 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
Description: The original location founded in 1973 offers a friendly dining atmosphere. With only twenty seats, you are guranteed fast, effecient service and fresh seafood! This will be an experience to remember. The chalkboard menu features all the classic dishes, in addition to weekly specials! Bring a friend and join the fun!
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a super tiny little place. Only seats about 20 people, at communal tables. The food was ridiculously good. Best linguine and clam sauce EVER.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    191
    66
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Come here for the experience rather than the food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

For the price they charge, I do expect great seafood dishes. Yes, the seafood is fresh, but if I want just fresh seafood I would have gone to fish market.

I won't recommend anyone who is looking for great food to come here, because for the price you pay, you can get better than this.

However, I would recommend anyone who like an experience to come here, the atmosphere and the service are good, and watching the chef at work is fascinating. Yes, you might have to share a table with other diners but that's part of the fun!

We spend around USD 100 for a dinner for 2, so if you like an experience and think it worth the price, then this is the place for you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dish served straight from the pan”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A delicious decadent dish served straight from the pan was served sizzling hot.
Seafood and pasta combination cooked fresh for you is amazing, Daily Catch is definitely a great italian/seafood restaurant in Boston Seaport. Friendly staff always a great experience.
Expect lines, small restaurant full of flavors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a hassle”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We wanted good but prompt lunch in North End. The whole thing was chaotic. One guy is cooking, one guy is acting as waiter and also answers takeout orders. One guy is doing all other chores. It was very small establishment and must share the table.
Waiter does not write down orders acting like he can remember all. But, after waiting so long, he brought wrong dish. We ended up sharing one dish because he abrasively told us Chef won't be able to cook quick for new order. The dish we had was 'Mussel in marinara sauce and linguine'. Mussels were not scrubbed and cleaned. I clearly see green algae and smell it. I even felt Mussels are not fresh, but I did not get sick fortunately. The Marinara sauce was indeed very good. We spent more than hour for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've been many times before and given this place 5 stars in the past but the latest visit was a bad one. The chef made the wrong meal, then quickly made up what we ordered-- but too quickly. The scallops were underdone. Grossly. The waitress acknowledged it, blamed the chef, but no consolation was made. We paid $100 for lunch and one of us didn't get to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 310Bea0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daily Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing