We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giacomo's Restaurant

Giacomo's Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 3,102 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
cary, nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

after wandering up and down hanover street for about an hour, we finally settled on giacomo's and what a decision we made!!! the place is small, so if you wait, you wait outside. we did. in the rain. but the locals in front of us kept telling us it was worth it, so we stuck it out and boy were they right!!!!!! once you get in, it's tight, so you are practically sitting with the people next to you, but it adds to the atmosphere. we struck up conversations with total strangers and left feeling like we knew half the place!! fantastic food, excellent atmosphere and the service was top notch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank madisonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    248
    92
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How Very Diappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having eaten seafood in Rome, Venice, and Genoa I would have to say the food was well below average. The portions were large and the seafood fresh but the sauces overpowered everything. The service was horrid, the waiter actually threw our bread basket over the table next to us. We were rushed through our meal, it reminded me of my years in the navy being rushed through the mess deck, and glared at by our waiter when we had a short conversation with the diners at the next table. Overall a terrible dining experience that I would never repeat or wish on anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Some of the best Italian food we have had in a long time! Had the calamari which was so good, i wanted a second plate! the entree was a huge portion and definitely worth the wait!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhubb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“My favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my favorite place to go and know that you are always going to have an excellent meal. Don't be in a hurry because chances are you are going to have to wait in line. So what? If you want crappy food you can go to McDonalds and not wait at all. My husband and I have litterally tried everything on the menu and seriously you can't go wrong with whatever you choose!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food in a small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The lines are long but mama keeps order of who gets in. Once inside, the food is excellent. Space is saved by writing the menu on the wall. Ordering is quick and efficient. You never feel rushed, even though you know others are waiting.

When ordering, don't forget an appetizer. The calamari was served with some fried onions -- interesting. Pasta is ordered based on shape, meat, and choice of sauce. Recommendations are on the menu and always a good choice

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLUJD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giacomo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing