We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the wait!”

Giacomo's Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
291 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Be warned: you will wait in line for a table at this tiny North End joint unless you get here well before the restaurant opens. Resist the urge to abandon the line when many other restaurants can seat you immediately and you will be well rewarded. The seafood-centric pasta menu is terrific! We all enjoyed seafood pasta dishes for entrees and "to-die-for" fried calamari. Each dish was chock full of wonderful, fresh seafood with perfectly cooked pasta and a wonder sauce of our choice. I had the half lobster, mussels and clams over linguine in Fra Diavalo sauce and it was amazing!!! The menu is also very reasonable, the most expensive entree is around $20 and beer and wine is under $5 per. And, our service was friendly and efficient - they move fast, but we did not feel rushed at all. However, if you want dessert and coffee, you gotta go to Mike's Pastries or The Modern.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHRESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    281
    106
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great food, very reasonable. If you don't like the atmosphere, you aren't ready for the North End. The lobster ravioli is fantastic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtonBrucep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overhyped bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went to Giacomo's as result of a recommendation from friend. As soon as we arrived, we saw a long line in the door, as they don't take reservations. We had to wait 1 hour standing on the street.

When finally in, we were expecting a taste of heaven.

I had spaghetti alle vongole in bianco, (listed as spaghetti with clams), my wife had fetuccine with salmon. Both dishes were pretty average. I was truly disappointed with the vongole, as they tasted as prepared without any idea of how should this taste like.

The service was quite poor. The server was mostly absent, and when we asked for his opinion about the salmon, he did not provide guidance as to whether he did or didn't like it. Service can be a saving grace for average food. In this case, we got neither service nor taste.

The Boston north end has many good options, and most of them don't ask you to wait for 1 hour at the door. You can walk 1 block and have much better food, without the wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is all about the food. Looked over several reviews, and agree, It is a very small place and they do look for quick turnover. We were lucky. It was a Wednesday night, the weather wasn't great, and we went early (5 PM) got right in, and when we left about 40 minutes later, there was still no line; however, all the tables were pretty much full. Our waitress, Rosemarie, was awesome. Even though she told us to take our time, service was prompt and seemed polite, friendly, but rushed, and once we ordered our appetizer, the calamari, - things happened "quickly" the last taste was off the plate and the plate was removed. Both main entrées were excellent, the Ziti with shrimp. scallops & broccoli in a garlic cream sauce, And the Fettuccini with Prosciutto & Peas in a garlic cream sauce. All the choices on the menu board looked awesome. We did note that it is paper napkins, and no table cloth and CASH ONLY, also there were no real "salads" and of course no dessert,!; so it does turn a table around fairly quickly. But it just gave us an excuse to get coffee & desert at one of the North End's famous bakeries (Lets not quibble over either Modern or Mikes; both are outstanding.) The bill was very reasonable, in fact what we paid for the shared appetizer, 2 glasses of wine, and 2 entrées; was about what one meal with wine would cost in many other places in the North End. We would certainly go again, but it is not the place for a leisure supper, and quiet interlude. It IS all about great food at a great price. I think that is why it is so popular. We would definitely go back the food is as good as what we have had in Italy (and in some cases BETTER!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Life-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

They open at 5, no reservations, get there early to stand in line! There's only a few tables, so dont go if you are looking for a quiet romantic dinner....but boy is the food great!!! Menu is written on a blackboard, and you are looking into the kitchen as it is part of the dining room. Food is served with an attitude, followed by a wink.Dont expect to linger, as there are people waiting.

Bottom line- great food,"bad" attitude, and great prices....will definitely go again!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timntracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giacomo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing