We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian fine dining”
Review of Mamma Maria

Mamma Maria
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Maria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Prince Street
Transit: T to Haymarket or Government Center.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Italian fine dining”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife an I are visitors to Boston, but have been in the North End a few times. We love trying different Italian restaurants in The North End but had not tried this one yet. I'll cut to the chase. The food and service were excellent. A little pricey, but delicious and worth it. If you're looking for more of a "fine dining" atmosphere, this is the place. I like the more "home cooking" atmosphere of being able to see the kitchen myself. I would recommend this place but might try another next time, but only because there are so many choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank canadacoast2coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    216
    60
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galion, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old World Style, Wine and Fine!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have nothing but good things to say about this restaurant. However, we would recommend a reservation. We were lucky and they “worked us in.” They have an excellent Italian wine selection and the food was suburb. We began in the bar while we waited (it’s small – only five seats) but we had a great time. This is an easy walk from the bay and we recommend this as the place to eat in Boston.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank stationwagonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Most romantic place in the North End”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The service, the food, the atmosphere, the wine list: wow, wow, wow and wow! Not cheap but, in this case, you get what you pay for. A great place for an anniversary dinner or to mark any special occasion. Walk it off later in the great North End neighborhood...you are a couple of bloacks from the harbor and Christopher Columbus park or, in the other direction, from Hanover Street, the festivals and the street show.

Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in a long time!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this place wandering through the North End after leaving another restaurant that was bad. By comparison Mamma Maria was exquisite - the food, the service the ambience. We had the feeling it was just meant to be. Our waiter was friendly, polite and knowledgable. When he brought us an appetizer by mistake he came back with it and offered it to us anyway. This was a real find and we will definitely be back before long.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant North-end Italian!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well, a trip to Boston is not complete without a visit to the famed North End! A true Italian delight!! A group of friends and I enjoyed this charming area of Boston on the first and last night of vacation. Mamma Maria's was one of the best Italian restaurants we have ever encountered! The service was exemplary and the food devine. While not all the menu items were only Italian, all the food we all had was outstanding! From the lamb prepared 4 ways, to the oysters to the Bolognese - yum!

A super elegant decor, but not stuffy - casual is more than fine attire, but the service and food rise above - do not miss this wonderful area and most of all, this fabulous restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sissy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Maria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing