We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh pizza with no pretence”
Review of Pizzeria Regina

Pizzeria Regina
Ranked #7 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fresh pizza with no pretence”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to Pizzeria Regina last night with my father and a colleague of his as we were looking for a relaxed dinner and had heard great things about the place. We were not disappointed. Even with how well the place is known, it really hasn't changed from its original style of a kind of "hole in the wall" pizza joint that does one thing - pizza. It was funny in that when you sit down, they bring you paper plates and cups (though real silverware), giving you the feeling it wouldn't make any difference if you ordered out or to stay. We decided to order two 10" pizzas and went for the Margherita and the Giambotta, to have a mix of very simple and a lot of toppings. Both were very fresh and not super greasy, making it enjoyable to eat the pizza, rather than a massive guilt trip. Also, with how thing the crust is, you could eat more slices without getting full (we each had four, when I normally eat two). I would recommend this as a stop for anyone looking for good pizza in Boston.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    458
    120
    40
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Boston!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The pizza at the original North End location is the best in Boston, hands down. You go here for the pizza, not the atmosphere. Expect a wait to be seated. At times a long wait, but well worth it. If you are lucky, get a seat at the very small bar to avoid the wait. Lots of toppings to choose from but I always seem to want to return to the sausage or pepperoni.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire Seacoast
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do one thing and do it right...”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Tucked in the North End, Pizzeria Regina is a back to basics pizza place. The pizza is the star here. No fancy decor, no huge menu of other food types, just pizza (and calzones). Lots of topping options to choose from so there is variety to be had. What makes this pizza great is a great dough that is cooked perfectly with a nice crisp bottom and fresh, flavorful toppings and seasonings. Even a basic margherita pizza tastes better here. We have tried others but Regina's is the best. Service is fast and efficient, agian with no frills. Get there early or you will be waiting a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mono Mills, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Pizza Anywhere”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The only reason you would walk into this restaurant is if you're wanting to experience the best pizza in a restaurant that has been making them to perfection since 1926.
This is old school - the real deal - pure italian. There are other locations, but we love the ambiance of this - the original in North End Boston. The crust is thin & each of the toppings are of the best quality. The service is great - lovely staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally stumbled on Regina's while looking for another pizza place. We were there a little past dinner time- around 8 or 9 on a Saturday night. There was no one else in line and were seated quickly. The pizza here is delicious- probably the best pizza we've ever eaten! I order a classic cheese pizza and my husband ordered the pollo pesto pizza. We both loved our pizzas and highly recommend Regina's!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing