We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As frequent guests at small hotels and B&B's we can say that this is a great property. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff was great. Some people reported noise, however we did not experience that at all. It is a 5 minute walk to the T in what looks like a safe area.
We were in town for a game at Fenway and found this place to be a good balance of close enough but far enough away to get out of the crowds. The only thing that might be an issue for some is the limited dining options nearby. However, it was only a $10.00 cab ride to the area around Copley Sq. / Back Bay area that has more dining than you would ever need. Or take the T for $2.50.

Overall a great stay and we have already made our next reservation here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Greetings Newt75,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are ecstatic that you found our rooms spotless and comfortable. With the “T” right at our doorstep it makes it convenient for anyone to navigate the city without the stress of Boston traffic. Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 649 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I, along with his cousin and her husband, stayed here for 3 nights. We had a wonderful time and the hotel was as clean as could be, very comfortable, and the staff was so nice and helpful. I would like to mention the morning gal, Ina, who helped us with places to go, how to go, and even printed out a map for us, as this was our first time in Boston we appreciated all her help. On Tuesday evenings a nearby restaurant, The Mission, brings by a wonderful 'taste' of what their restaurant has to offer, and we enjoyed that, too! We even walked there another night and had dinner.
It would be a draw back if you needed to be in downtown Boston most of the time, but we found it easy to navigate given all the different options.
If we should end up in Boston again, we would be happy to stay there once again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 and never heard any of the noise others spoke of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WannaBthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Greetings Wannabthere,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here in Boston and at our hotel. A special thank you on behalf of Ina as well, we love when staff are recognized from our guests for their efforts. We hope to see you next time you are in Boston!
Lisa Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A charming moderately priced small hotel near medical facilities and Fenway Park but pretty far from downtown Boston, contrary to what its Expedia writeup suggests. While billed as a good area to walk, this is a fairly gritty older neighborhood. All the same, the room was comfortable and well cared for. The staff is friendly and helpful. So if you need to be in the area, it's a good choice. Don't however take a room next to the elevator which is surprisingly noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckwellborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings Chuckwellborn,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you were comfortable in your room. As like much of Boston, our neighborhood has character in the old architecture of residential buildings. We also have beautiful Olmsted Park behind the hotel and Jamaica Pond a short walk down Jamaicaway. Thank you for choosing enVision Hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is clean, modern and has everything you need for a comfortable nights stay. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. There is even a hospital rate (if you ask for it) that makes the stay very affordable. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings Nicole G,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our special hospital rate while you were in the area. We understand that when a loved one is in the hospital the last thing you want to worry about is accommodations. We hope that your loved one is off to a speedy recovery and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 20th September 2013. As others have said it is a boutique hotel in a residential district about 20 minutes on the T from downtown Boston. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the king size bed very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed though it would be useful if there could be a second chair in the room. We had a view over the park at the back of the hotel. Although our room was at the back of the hotel there is a very busy road between it and the park, with traffic noise heard all night. This is despite the windows being double glazed – maybe because the frames themselves were not particularly tight fitting. Hopefully, this is something that management can sort out for the future, because in all other respects we felt that this is an excellent hotel at a reasonable price for Boston. There was no between room noise that we heard.

Our plane landed at 5.30pm on a Friday night. We had booked the Boston Shuttle to the hotel, but that proved to be a mistake – rush hour traffic, the bus we were in time to catch being full, and having to wait for the next one, and the fact that the En Vision is out of downtown Boston meant that the journey was slow and we were the last to be dropped off…. arriving at the hotel at 8.30pm – 3 hours after we landed. By this time we were very travel weary, and hungry! We were grateful to be able to buy a couple of croissants, muffins and yoghurt from the little shop/cafe next to reception in the hotel. However, the receptionist did not tell us that a 5 minute walk down the road there was a take-away Pizza, Subway, and late night grocery store, which would have met our needs better. The T is just down or up the road, and a 10 minute walk to Brookline Station (on a different line) brings you to where you can buy Charlie tickets. We were told this by a very pleasant receptionist the following morning. We bought a 7 day Link Pass for $18 dollars each, and made good use of it during our 2 days. This 7 day Pass also covers the ferry from the Waterfront across to Charleston which makes it even better value for tourists.

Making the most of our time in Boston we returned to En Vision mid evening the following day, and decided to have a take-away Pizza for supper. My husband walked down the road to collect it, and felt perfectly safe doing so. The Pizza was excellent!! There is a lack of restaurants in the area, so it is probably best to eat elsewhere, which is what we did on our third night, returning late, but still feeling quite safe on the T and on the short walk to the hotel from the T stop.

On the morning of our departure, reception staff called a taxi for us, which arrived promptly. It cost us $37 to go from En Vision to car rentals at Logan Airport – little more than the $30 the Boston Shuttle had cost from the airport to En Vision, 3 days earlier!. The taxi journey took about 20 minutes!

We would certainly recommend this hotel, providing you are not light sleepers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a nicer outlook, but still have traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel while we toured Boston for the first time. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel more than met our needs. We felt like we were in a luxury hotel but we didn't pay luxury prices. If this hotel had been in downtown Boston, they could have charged at least double what they did. We had no trouble with the location except for getting to the hotel and then, after our stay, getting back to the interstate. We drove our own car and, thanks to our GPS, found it after making MANY turns onto small neighborhood streets. Once we were there, we used the valet parking because we didn't feel that there was a better option. Until we left, we used the T to get around the city. As nice as the accomodations were, the staff was even better. Attentive, caring, helpful, patient, prompt - I have nothing but praise for them. From the valet who greeted us at the door, to the desk clerks, to the general manager who greeted us personally ever morning, they made us feel so welcome. If we ever come back to Boston, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamp725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Greetings jamp725,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I have shared your comments with our entire staff- we are so appreciative of your kind words and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned the Boston streets can be a little difficult to navigate if you’re not familiar with it but it’s great you were able to take advantage of Boston’s great public transportation! Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you the next time you come to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we booked at envision hotel whilst visiting our daughter at university and were given a university discount two weeks ago

the hotel is basically an upmarket budget hotel in an odd location.

i paid cash for the stay but an sms came to me from my card provider about their charging my card for the stay. am awaiting the end month bill to see if they have reversed the charge as they charged the card without telling me.

issues we had were as follows:
room given was in the basement even though labeled ground floor and with a terrible view
noise from the tram passing and general noise of cars etc
very poor health club area

Positives
nice room with a coffee maker and microwave
super comfortable bed
good service by the new gentleman at the hotel in the reception

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors not facing the street because of the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chandraitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Greetings chandraitha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our beds and new Keurig coffee brewers. As you mentioned we are a small boutique hotel located in a primarily residential neighborhood and not in the hustle and bustle of busy downtown Boston. Our fitness center is ideal to get your basic workout and includes treadmills with built-in television, an elliptical, bike, single stack gym, free weights and WII fit. We hope you had a safe trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
YOTEL Boston
YOTEL Boston
#28 of 86 in Boston
228 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 86 in Boston
2,176 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood

Address: 81 South Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02130-4704
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $122 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing