We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem for Jamaica Plain..Brookline...Longwood Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gem for Jamaica Plain..Brookline...Longwood Area”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A terrific little boutique hotel that is a great spot for anyone visiting students in the area or on medical business in the Longwood area. The rooms are spacious and have coffee makers, microwaves, and dorm size fridges. Desk with exec style chair was complete with an ipad radio.
The bed was very comfortable and the bath stocked with quality products. A small shop at the front desk is well stocked with snacks and drinks. It is just a block from the Heath Street Station on the T's green line. Valet parking is only $18 a day. The real highlight was the staff - sincerely courteous, cheerful, and personable.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
MVTraveler, reading your review has made us so happy because you have identified exactly what we want to deliver to each guest. Our location is conveniently close to the Longwood Medical area and local colleges which allows for a quick ride on the “T” or walk down the street. We feel that our service and amenities are a great complement to provide each guest with a desirable stay! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    159
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
208
171
45
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days for business and it truly fulfilled all my needs and felt like second home. Rooms are big and have fridge, microwave, ironing board, iPad radio,very well functioning WiFi for free which all made the stay very enjoyable. The only thing I missed was some kind of comfortable armchair fr which there would have been plenty of room. Service is very personal and good. They would print you out anything you need with no problems or fees and even deliver that to you room if you wanted. Great hotel with great connections to city and Jamaica plain which is great vivid neghborhood. Nice parks next to hotel for jogging, especially Jamaica pond is worth the visit. I will certainly be back during my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are ecstatic that we were able to fulfill your needs while in Boston, Jukka! We love hearing from our guests and appreciate any feedback that is provided. I think it’s a great idea to add an armchair to the rooms rather than a regular seating chair; I will definitely be mentioning this to the owners. The Jamaica Plain area is a family friendly community that offers the feel of a small town while in a big city. Thank you once again for choosing enVision and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is certainly one of the most understated boutiques hotels in Boston. Thank goodness it is no where near downtown. It would not be possible to have so personal an experience. The rooms are well-appointed (good coffee-maker, microwave, bigger than usual midi-fridge) and elegant. Beds and linen are sumptuous. Bathroom is fine with very good soaps and towels. I got an oversize shower. Everything was sparkling clean. The best surprise was the manager and staff. Amazingly helpful at any hour. Don't let the location put you off, there is a wealth of public transportation right outside the door, and that is the way the locals get around Boston.

Room Tip: Ask the manager or staff for their help. Every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, Marcus! We are delighted that you enjoyed the fact that we are not located in the chaos of downtown Boston. We also appreciate that you took notice of the quality of linens and the amenities offered in each room. Our staff is always here to help, and we all look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Central Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The EnVision is an amazing botique hotel that is located directly on the greenline for easy transportation. The staff is friendly and called me by name which rarely if ever happens at big hotels. The room was spotless as was the entire property. With valet parking at only $18 a day and service that you don't have to wait for, this is an unbeatable deal. With valet parking you also have access to your car by just picking up keys at the front desk. This was nice since I always forget something in the car. The greenline subway transportation comes by every 10 minutes or so and is quick to Copley and Hynes as well as other stops. If you want a taxi, the front desk will get you one quickly. The beds are amazing and, despite the location between busy streets, the noise level is very low. Bathrooms are a nice size. Hotel has an on-site coffee shop as well with a Wok and Talk down the street as well as a Subway and small gas station grocery store. Unbeatable and high class place to stay in a friendly city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at enVision Hotel. We want to provide all guests with the best service. It is very much appreciated that you took note of our added details such as calling guests by name and ease of access to your vehicle. It is a great complement that you consider us unbeatable. Thank you again for staying with us and should you be coming back to Boston in the future we invite to stay once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Blizzard of 2013 made my stay at Envision especially memorable. And because the city was shut down for 24 hrs or so, I got to know my guestroom and the hotel pretty darn well. I'll first dispense with the caveats: if you need a full-service hotel this is not your solution. if you need a comfortable, stylish hotel room in a great location, and at a great price, then look no further. Our guestroom was a spacious double/double (305 I think). it was very nicely appointed with contemporary furniture, comfortable bed with excellent linens, standard desk, dresser, empty frig for your own food/drinks, and a good sized flat screen TV with plenty of channels, but no On Demand. Even with high winds and low temperatures the room stayed cozily warm and quiet. There was a little light leaking into the room, but not nearly enough to keep you awake. The bathroom was not so spacious, but I don't spend a lot of time in there anyhow. The tub was tiny and the shower curtain a tad on the short side. Amenities are adequate but if you're seeking quality hair products bring your own. Housekeeping staff was attentive and thorough. The young front desk staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. Internet is free and has decent bandwidth, though don't try downloading a movie. Parking is an issue in the area so their covered valet parking under the hotel is a plus, though at $18/night it's not cheap (cheaper than downtown hotels however). Forget street parking unless you don't care about circling for half the day. They offer some snacks and coffee in the morning at a reasonable price, but otherwise there are no extra services. They have a gym, but I didn't use it. This hotel is perfect if you're visiting someone at a nearby hospital or in the neighborhood, interviewing for a job in Boston or sightseeing. P.S. - don't trust their online driving instructions, they are wrong.

Room Tip: all the rooms are different sizes so ask the hotel staff about specific rooms when you're making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of our property, Aron. The Blizzard of 2013 was certainly memorable and we were happy that we were able to provide you with all of the amenites needed for a comfortable stay despite the circumstances. Our newly renovated boutique rooms are all styled differently with allowance for each room type being memorable while offering amazing amenities. If you forget any basic amenities our front desk will be able to assist you as well. In addition we have over 100 channels including HBO and ensuring that you are at home during your stay with us.

Thank you for your great comments regarding our front desk and housekeeping staff. Next time you are in town we will ensure that our staff recommends restaurants that are within walking distance from our hotel, something we were unable to do due to the inclement weather. Our online driving instructions have been fixed so you will have no issues getting here on your next visit.

Please contact me at lcooper@envisionhotelboston.com if I can be of any further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'm usually not one to write reviews but I have to do it this time. We planned a last minute trip to Boston and we had our dog to bring with us. I came accross this one by searching around and I was a little afraid but it was the best decision. The hotel looks brand new and the room was awesome and clean and it did not have any bad smells at all. Ryan the front desk attendant was so nice and gave us a lot of good information for our first visit to Boston. My whole family was very happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Miriam, I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay! We appreciate that you took the time to thank us and recognize the efforts set forth from both Housekeeping and Ryan. Our housekeeping department works very hard to ensure all guests are provided a clean and comfortable room to enjoy throughout their stay. We will have a room ready for you on your next excursion to Boston! P.S. Ryan says Thank you as well! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This truly is a boutique hotel - very small and charming with an upscale, modern feel. It's by far the best choice hotel I've ever stayed in. Valet parking was cheap relatively speaking ($18 per day vs. $39 further into Boston) and the front desk managers were extremely helpful in finding a place for breakfast and with printing tickets for a show we were attending that night. Our room was quite large, clean and comfortable. We stayed here because we were coming in from a 6 hour drive around 9 p.m. and didn't need to be right now in Boston city center for the first night. It was a perfect stop for that purpose. If you're looking to explore downtown/historical Boston, this is NOT the right spot for you, so keep that in mind. It does have close access to the T (subway) system, but it is further out on the green line, which tends to be quite slow. Just a reminder. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is such an honor that you consider us to be the nicest Choice Hotel you have stayed at! Our guests comfort and satisfaction are a top priority for us. We feel that part of our charm and appeal is the fact that we are not located in the hustle and bustle of a large city center. On behalf of all the staff at enVision Hotel we want to Thank You and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,711 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,522 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood

Property: enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood
Address: 81 South Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02130-4704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston - Longwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing