We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyric Stage Company of Boston

Lyric Stage Company of Boston
Ranked #146 of 377 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of The Lyric Stage Company of Boston is to produce entertaining, challenging, and provocative theatrical productions of varying genres and styles that reach a wide variety of audiences through reasonable ticket prices and outreach programs. We are committed support and nurture the talents of Boston-area theatre artists through employment, training, and development opportunities.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Look folks, it's not Broadway, but they don't claim to be and they certainly don't charge Broadway prices (or other Boston theater's either). In a really relaxed, intimate atmosphere this small venue often really works very well. You won't have a 60 piece orchestra, but, when the show calls for it, there is nevertheless a very good musical background. The actors possibly try harder than a big name cast might. So, make an allowance or two, save a few bucks and enjoy a very entertaining night out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murray300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always A Resounding Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Moved to Metro Boston from Maryland last year and immediately sought out a small intimate professional theatre company. Bingo - Lyric Stage Company of Boston. The plays are far ranging, the actors superb, the performances outstanding. And Spiro Veloudos, the Artistic Director seems omnipresent, making sure everything is "greased" and greeting and listening to the the attendees. Bravo!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Multi-year season ticket holder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We love the Lyric Stage. We've enjoyed a broad spectrum of performances there, from the popular to things we'd never heard of. There's not a bad seat in the house, and the imaginative, absorbing staging keeps the focus on the actors and the story. Also, the ticket prices are an excellent value. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Little Company that Could”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Most every time I go to Lyric Stage I am impressed by how much they do with ... very little. You walk in and you might say to yourself, my college drama department had a bigger black box theatre. But this is by no means rinky-dink. I've seen several plays and musicals (the best being Grey Gardens) and am generally impressed. It's a very nice house with a talented creative team. Come out and support them -- in the end, you'll be doing yourself a favor.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah41707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant Live Theater in the Heart of Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Lyric Stage of Boston continues to delight, inspire and amaze this reviewer, his family and friends with its eclectic offerings. From an antic performance of The Mikado, to the thought-provoking "Thirty-Three Variations" we have not once been disappointed. The theater itself is small and intimate, so you can see and hear everything easily. Each production is unique so you experience a wide variety of talents in acting, set design, lighting, and costuming. If you love live theater and haven't tried the Lyric Stage, do yourself a favor and go soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Stage Company of Boston also viewed

 

Been to Lyric Stage Company of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing