We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fun atmosphere and a local place...food was ok, service needs work”
Review of Local 149

Local 149
Reserve with OpenTable
Local 149 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #987 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really fun atmosphere and a local place...food was ok, service needs work”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The food was good but we sat down and were told right away that there were things that they were out of (basics, like the turkey sandiwch, roast beef sandwich, etc). No big deal cause what we wanted- they had. Sandwiches don't come with anything so you have to order chips/fries/etc. Desserts and beer selection weer AMAZING. Service was less than stellar. The waitress was pleasant and attentive when she could be, but she was the only waitress and was obviously pulled in 100 different directions. Put another wait staff on over the weekend/holiday!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindzjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtonville, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Microbrews on tap, meno uses organic local food sources”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and some friends and I stopped here on a whim and were very pleasantly surprised. We are big fans of microbrew beer and this place a great selection on tap. The food was creative and uses local farm sources, which is something we love to support. My husband and I went back again a week later on New Year's Eve for drinks and bar food and loved everything we had. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, casual, funky, fun”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a sister property of "The Biltmore" in Needham, MA and I have to say although I like them both - this is my new favorite place in Southie. Met some friends for dinner/drinks - it has a great selection of small plates to share, always changing menu with eclectic offerings, good selection of beers and a wonderful cocktail menu with very tasty options. I highly recommend you try the "Moscow Mule" cocktail to start and the Farmer's plate can't be beat with a variety of local cheeses and meats prepared at the bar. Give it a try - you will enjoy the atmosphere and come back for the drinks and unique food offerings.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Dessert EVER!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The new layout is really cool, great place to hang out and the food was excellent. The portions are not huge but I personally like it that way. We got the fried pickles (YUM!) and I had an excellent dish of broiled scallops over pumpkin risotto. Can you say, delish!?

We picked this place over Wolfie's because they had desserts and the other place did not. We were celebrating my birthday and the dessert special was chocolate ice cream with a caramel sauce, and real home-made whipped cream!

Great place to go for a date or for a drink with friends. Check it out!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Noisy, but surprisingly good food”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was a hoppin' place the Friday night we were there. They don't take reservations but the call-ahead seating worked fine for us. We were pleasantly surprised by the creativity of the dishes and quality of the food. They have a very extensive list of unique beers and they were willing to let us have a taste before ordering which was helpful. We enjoyed some shared appetizers like pot stickers, fried zucchini and a very tasty nacho crab concoction. The entrees were all interesting and delicious including the lamb shank, scallops, chicken, and gnocchi. For such a busy night, the service was prompt and friendly. Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Local 149? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing