We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average Thai” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok City
Ranked #1,559 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Below average Thai”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sorry to have to give this restaurant a poor review, because the staff was very courteous and friendly. Maybe I just am spoiled since I live in an area with hundreds of Asian restaurants and can tell the difference between good and bad ones. We happened to stumble into this one since it was near our hotel. The vegetarian dishes were passable.The chicken dish had meat which seemed "fake" -- almost like a chicken substitute. And I never heard of charging extra for the rice in a dish that normally comes with rice ($1.50). Next time I'm in Boston I'll be sure to choose one of the more highly recommended Thai restaurants and pass on this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank randstyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Average Thai!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The food was good, but i have seen better thai than this! I went to this on my mom's birthday and i would say i wasn't satisfied. The food was bland. And I think that thai food is recognized by its fragrance, the essence of the lemon grass. It was missing. It seemed bland. There are surely better Thai options in here. though service was awesome!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Review_Master18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,050 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Great menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stumbled upon this restaurant near Berklee College before a performance and it was great. Menu varied and we chose the Thai curries. The Thai wine was also very good and complemented the food. Service excellent too. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Well done Thai Food. Pad Thai was among the best I've had anywhere. Service is friendly. They do make you pay for rice, however. If you're in the mood for Thai, it's a good choice.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSDCArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

They have a menu with lots of Thai options. We enjoyed our meals, service was friendly and the decor included imported Thai elements.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CincyOHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok City also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing