We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Jaffa

Cafe Jaffa
Ranked #576 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Back Bay
NYC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were staying at the Eliot Hotel (a great choice, see separate review) and wandered into the Cafe Jaffa--what a great find. We were weary from visiting colleges, and the atmosphere was very nice and comfortable, out waitress was sweet and helpful, and the food was very good. We would definitely go back if we are ever in the area again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliettegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    13
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Falaffel plate, side of fries and sangria. YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place is a gem in the back bay area. I have been going there for the past few years. They offer american and middle eastern food. My favorite meal here is the Falafel Plate. The falafel tastes great! Their salads are amazing. They have the best Sangria in the area. I don't usually stray from my usual but everything I have tried on their menu has left me extremely satisfied. Upon your first visit I would suggest that you try their Falafel Plate with a side of fries and a glass of red sangria. Go ahead try it! You'll love it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcs_mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

CJ's been around a while in a highly competitive Backbay food scene. You need to have good value proposition, and if it works, stick to it.

Their value proposition is IMO " A reasonably good Mediterranean food at reasonable cost." For example, you can have good shawarma wrap for ~$8.

I wouldn't say their food is the best Mediterranean I've ever had, nor the cheapest (for that, you need to go to Detroit area, IMO), but for Backbay, it's pretty much has the best bang for your buck.

Ps. The waitstaff is typical of Backbay standards. Very good.

Helpful?
Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
238 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great value middle eastern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Unassuming middle eastern/north African restaurant between Newbury and Boylston streets. We had the sharing plate which was hummus, baba ganoush, falafels, pitta, two side salads and grilled chicken, lamb and beef. I also proposed to my Girlfriend in there – not planned but it just felt right so it will always hold special memories for us!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank willsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LexGSR
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An old favorite that's still a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We used to live near this place a decade ago, and it was always a "go to" when we wanted a quick dinner. It's Mediterranean fair, served in large portions, in a very unassuming atmosphere. The grape leaves are outstanding... and real homemade falafel! Whenever I need to go to the Hynes Convention Center, I make sure Cafe Jaffa is on the list for lunch or dinner. (Walk out the front door of the Hynes... cross Boylston and keep going up Gloucester. It's just a few yards up, on the left.) This past week, I grabbed dinner there. It was really tasty, as always!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LexGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jaffa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Jaffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing