We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarrassment”
Review of Bravo Restaurant

Bravo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bravo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #470 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Museum Road
Transit: MFA station on Huntington Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An embarrassment”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a regular donor and patron of the MFA and a Boston resident I am ashamed of the shockingly poor dining option inside the museum. Bravo's food is consistently overpriced, mislabeled and downright dishonest. Salads come out limp and wilted; "heirloom" tomatoes come out as mealy beefsteak tomatoes doused in cheap olive oil; every soup has had its flavors drowned in cream; and every meat dish comes out significantly undercooked or tough. The servers, while often kind and well-trained, are impossibly thinly spread and everything seems to run slowly. I will go to the New American Cafe under duress but honestly do not think either upscale restaurant in the museum is worth paying more for over the simple cafeteria, to say nothing of the acceptable dining options in the northeastern neighborhood. The MFA is truly a world-class museum and perhaps my favorite in the US all things considered- but dine elsewhere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wildlifephotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    62
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More like 3.5”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We so appreciated being seated according to our reservations in a nice spot in the expansive dining room. Waiter was attentive until he wasn't but manager (we think) ?stepped in to assist waiters, thanks! We never wanted........
Ourc review was mixed though we left full. We were wishing for non flavored rolls, rosemary and cherry ? rolls were just not for us.
My citrus brined chicken with chicken sausage was great. Everyone tried and loved small white beans, great dish.
Dad was not a fan of his Artichoke and shrimp quiche, tough crust ,salty.
Appetizer of pear and some kind of cheese was okay but we had no spoons and got 3 small toasts for four of us, wondered how to eat this. Also sweeter than we anticipated but nice, cinnamon flavor...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank summeroff2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Anice respite from exhibits”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I took my two daughters to the Sargent exhibit and then to the Bravo Restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised by the quiet ambience, the wine list, the food offerings and the service. What a nice place to go after an exhibit visit. I had the best crab cakes I have had since leaving Maryland 40 years ago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is conveniently located at the heart of the museum.

The decor and the service are up to high standards. You have to pick from a 2 or 3 courses menu for brunch on Sunday at prix fix ($33-$39). The food is well presented and comes in small portions and was ok.
Disappointed by the desserts though.

Not bad for a museum restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank francoisk114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific aspect of Museum of Fine Arts”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Bravo provides fine dining at the Museum (see separate reviews), and is well worth the journey by itself, and terrific as an aspect of the Museum going experience. Lovely location and facilities, and very good food. The cooking is generally on the light side of new American, and the wine list is quite reasonable. All in all, worthwhile, whether or not you are taking advantage of the MFA art experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bravo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing