We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch at Bravo”
Review of Bravo Restaurant

Bravo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bravo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #444 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Museum Road
Transit: MFA station on Huntington Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Brunch at Bravo”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been to Bravo a handful of times and the food holds its own with other upscale new American restaurants, but it's never crowded or noisy.

They have a great prix fixe menu for brunch - the desserts are fabulous. I had a salad and the skirt steak, which comes with warm tortillas and eggs in an individual skillet that were so cute I almost couldn't eat them.

One thing worthy of note: the portions are always a little smaller than I expect. But I never walk away hungry.

Bravo's a great way to turn a special event at the MFA into a one-stop night (or afternoon) out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    63
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to meet friends who live in Boston or are visiting from neighboring cities or in town for business or a conference. It's quiet and has acres of white tablecloths but not too stuffy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, elegant dinner in the Museum of Fine Arts”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good food in a quiet, beautiful setting with excellent service. The museum staff made reservations for us, and we were seated promptly, although the waiter said that the room was the busiest he had seen in two years. The poached swordfish was just right; the risotto was smooth and spicey.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwmarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Brunch, lunch, and dinner at Bravo: brunch outshines the rest”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There is something restless about the MFA in Boston: it's never calm, it overstimulates, people move along corridors crowded with curios of antiquities, large scale paintings, and current trendy expositions. Coming into Bravo, the restaurant on the second floor calms the spirit with its restful neutral colors and views of the walled courtyard no matter the season.
In the last year, I have been there for dinner several times after an evening lecture series, once for lunch with "women of a certain age" and most recently for brunch. Each time the ambiance soothes and the food quality is good with a pleasant and attentive waitstaff. However, a frequent diner will find that the dinner menu seldom changes. Brunch topped the list with several options for two or three courses and a waiter willing to let couples share and divide their meals to suit their tastes. The Bloody Mary's weren't great, but the food was. The servings are large and easily shared and the Latin style eggs were scrumptious.
It's a great place to take friends visiting the city, combine with a trip to the Gardner, and enjoy convenient parking (valet or self). And, there is incredible art to be discovered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well made dishes. Service is uninspired”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here during a visit to the MFA this weekend. The place is very nicely decorated with big couched booths , but for a restraint in an art museum, not much art. The waiter was cold and efficient but completely unfriendly. It didn't ruin our meal but it didn't make us feel welcome.
The Menu comes as a choice of three course or two Prix Fixe for Brunch on Sunday . I had the Chorizo and sweet corn Risotto which was heavenly and My wife had the Salmon chowder which was also excellent. The bread basket included chocolate chip muffins, apricot scones and fantastic rolls. For our main course my wife had Crispy Skin Salmon , of which I ate the skin because I have always loved salmon skin sushi rolls . It was nutty and fantastic. I had the Skirt steak medium rare, which was fantastic and came with a small pan fried egg, Guacamole, Salsa and 2 tortillas. We each had two glasses of wine, all great choices. Overall, the food is exceptional and it comes quickly. The service is very efficient but extremely sedate. Extremely low key vibe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bravo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing