We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Per Se or Daniel. But in Boston.”
Review of L'Espalier

L'Espalier
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Espalier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 3,228 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield St.
Transit: Copley Square T
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Per Se or Daniel. But in Boston.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you liked Per Se or Daniel in NYC. Then you would love L'Espalier. Impeccable service. Amazingly creative food. Great for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    117
    65
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoy doing a tasting menu while on vacation, and so I usually do a bit of research online to find the right restaurant. I am so very glad we picked L'Espalier as it was an exceptional experience. The chef's menu was very well crafted. The wine pairing was spot-on and well balanced between varietals and regions. Reservations are needed, but use the opportunity to request a window seat. As it the restaurant sits one floor up, you get a good view of a vibrant Boston neighborhood. One thing to keep in mind to avoid awkwardness: they do have valet parking, but it is not free. This detail was never mentioned, nether by the valet nor the restaurant itself. It costs $17, which was quite a bit more than the $5 I was trying to tip the valet thinking it was included.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FCO_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently enjoyed our anniversary dinner at L'Espalier. The service was outstanding, the decor was elegant yet comfortable and warm, and the location was superb. The food was - in a nutshell - outstanding. We enjoyed the summer menu and each course was delicious. I would recommend our dishes specifically, but I have little doubt that every one of the choices on the menu is superb. I am a very picky eater but would trust the chef with anything after just one meal. So glad to know this type of experience is available in Boston. I'm just sorry that we did not discover it earlier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglander99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't dream of a better meal and experience!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It really couldn't have been any better. The food was incredible and perfectly matched by the service. I'm glad that I chose L'Espalier to propose to my fiancee, it couldn't have been better and the whole experience provided by the team there was unbeatable. I just wish they'd travel to England and provide my wedding catering...!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timhunt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“This was a wonderful meal”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a wonderful experience, made such by the overall service and our server, Shah. From the greeting in the lobby to the attention to detail table side, service was excellent. The amuse bouche that were served were incredible. The wine list is daunting but the sommelier was helpful. We did the three course price fixed menu. My tuna started was fantastic and my beef tenderloin entree was just as enjoyable. Portions are just the right size, although at first you think it doesn't look like a lot but by the end of the meal, believe me, you're full. We substituted a cheese selection for dessert and when my daughter was undecided on dessert, both choices showed up (go for the bread pudding. It sounds pedestrian but it is royalty in dessert). Overall, the quality of the food, the attention to detail, the service, etc, etc made this a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Espalier also viewed

 

Been to L'Espalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing