We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Herford or Massachusetts Avenues
Transit: Hynes Convention Center
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service.
Quincy, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had steak and lobster and it was absolutely delicious! The ambience was great and was a great place to have a conversation with friends while enjoying a wonderful meal. Highly recommend it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Almalittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    188
    72
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fancy lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Capital Grille can be fancy or not so much, depending on your tastes and budget. We went for lunch recently and had their $19 clam chowder, lobster roll and truffle fries. Not a bad price and the food was delicious and the atmosphere was great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding ~ Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was meeting my husband and son for dinner prior to us attending a Red Sox game. We were all coming from different directions and met at the restaurant. I arrive first and went into the bar to wait for them. I was made to feel very welcome as I sat and waited. The bar had a great mix of professionals, Sox fans and folks visiting Boston. The ambiance is very old Boston, which I love.
When I heard from each of my dinner companions that they would be late I asked to be seated. Again, I was not made to feel as though I was imposing on anyone. Our server was a delight and we had a long conversation about their red wines, of which he was very knowledgeable. My son arrived and our server greeted him enthusiastically and they chatted about the available beers. My husband straggled in and yet another great conversation with our waiter.
The food was outstanding as it always is. But there are a lot of steak houses you can go to in Boston and every other major city. The Capital Grille shines for me with their remarkable staff. They always take the extra step; I would recommend without (haha) reservation!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinySeasideDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had made reservations for a Bride to be, party of 5. We made our reservations online and only said we were celebrating a Bride to Be! We were brought to our confetti decorated table with a signed congratulation card from the staff. We were immediately given glasses of complimentary champagne. The meal was delicious as always, service was impeccable. The bride was given a dessert plate, beautifully decorated with a sampling of desserts.

Overall a perfect evening for our bride! Highly recommend for any occasion or any night out. You can't go wrong with The Capital Grille!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best steak worldwide... Again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten at Capital Grilles since 2000: Chicago, Houston, Stamford, New York and now Boston.

You come here for steak, well I do. It is categorically the best fillet steak I have ever tasted. Such was the perfection of the meat and the cooking that it was almost hard to distinguish the texture of the steals from the gorgeous roasted mushrooms. The onion strings (not on the menu, but as I have loved them for 14 years, obligingly produced) also wonderful.

A perfect Amarone to wash it down.

This is steak at its finest. Can't say more aside that I will eat filet mingnon at these restaurants in verity US state I ever visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing