We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect food, service not so fast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 3,112 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Dartmouth Street
Transit: Copley (Green Line) or Back Bay (Orange Line) “T” stop.
Description: We know shopping induces hunger - and Legal Sea Foods reels in those who want to splash down for a meal or grab-and-go. Our restaurant is located on the upper level of Copley Place, with direct indoor access to both the Westin and Marriott hotels as well as to the Prudential Center. Panoramic floor-to-ceiling windows overlook Boston's historic South End. Here the views and the seafood are second to none.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect food, service not so fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went here for dinner on wednesday. It is the perfect place to go if you want to eat good fish. In particular there's a faboulous grill mix. However, if the restaurant is full you have to wait more than 15 min to be served.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Domacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    289
    140
    49
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fukuoka
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I love crab cake, so I tried it at 3 restaurants nearby. But the one here was the best. Also raw cram and oyster was also fresh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank emiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lose the attitude, keep the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a nicely located restaurant in the business and retail end of Boston Back Bay, settled above the retail street level. Cosy booths and tables with a busy atmosphere, it serve quality seafood and fine wines. It is a pleasant place to dine, without being very exciting. The menu is reliable and food cooked and served to a required standard, in line with a "restaurant chain" style.
Don't expect too much more than this. If you're looking for fun dining and imaginatively cooked seafood, head to North End.
What made it disappointing for us was the chain culture of conformity, which refused to recognise anything other than a USA driver's licence as proof of age. As a result, our daughter was unable to join us in celebrating a special event with a nice glass of Champagne. Her international licence and passport just wouldn't cut it!
A restaurant should have the ability to make an occasion special, not to kill the occasion like that. Sadly, this house of rules couldn't do that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food great service!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a familia trip to Boston.The restaurant is located insiide Prudential shopping center, a beautiful set of shops connecting with Copley Place,
Our waiter was a wonderful girl who suggested proper dishes according what we wanted to eat. There is a great selection of fantastic and delicious dishes.
We really enjoy our dinner and the service. The swordfish was wonderful and the clam chowder was beautiful and arrived fast. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I arrived around 9.30pm which might have played a role as it meant the place was getting empty and it therefore very quiet. I love when it is actually possible to hear yourself think in a restaurant.

The service was quite and courteous, efficient but not rushing me, keen to advise but not in selling mode.

I went with the features starter which frankly would have passed as a main. Calamari were cooked to perfection with just the right balance of meaty and chewy. The mussels and little necks were delicious and the half lobster obviously a nice surprise (I was expecting some sort of lobster lumps or salad, not a half !)

Main was an equally delighting treat but what I want to single out is their wine list. I was unaware that this was something they prided themselves with, having just randomly walked in. I was really impressed by the range and in particular by the choice of half bottles, something that's too rare but much appreciated by solo travellers.
A+

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing