We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service with ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grotto

Grotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 3,188 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cambridge
Transit: T Stops are Park and Government Center.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service with ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was cold during the entire meal. Half of the restaurant gets a draft from the door during the winter. The service was terrible. The food was ok. Salad was good. The steak tips for the fondue were very rare. Short ribs with gnocchi were great. Spaghetti and meatballs was very peppery and not very good. Deserts were very good. I can see why people from the neighborhood may love this place but if you are from out of town I wouldn't go out of my way to go to Grotto.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    97
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy Cuisine for a Cold Winter's Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

What a charming (very) little bistro in Beacon Hill! We were welcomed in from the cold and snow and ushered to a cozy booth by friendly and attentive staff and the meal followed that path as well. From the simple bread and delicious oil (with olives, no less) and the carrozza appetizer salad to the perfectly plated pasta with lobster and yummy chicken parm, everything was fresh and delicious! Wish we had had time to relax and savor some of the decadent desserts, but will plan a return trip for that (maybe start with them). Perfect location for pre-theater dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous hiddem gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent Italian food away from the touristy North End. Very cozy and charming decor. We thoroughly enjoyed the fonduta, gnudi and parmigiano. The gnudi is ricotta dumplings served with spinach and mushrooms - it was amazing and I can't wait to go back and have it again! All of our dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Next time we are going to save room for dessert. I recommend making a reservation and requesting a table away from the door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zaccpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A delightful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Grotto is tucked in almost underground on Bowdoin Street just down from the State House. It's small (intimate), but truly excellent. The food is delicious and varied -- from classics like Chicken Parmesan (the chef's unique take on it) to duck to venison (superb) to their signature Gnocchi with Short Ribs. The portions are ample but not extreme, but make sure to leave room for dessert. We found one Panna Cotta enough for four to split over coffee. True dessert lovers, however, might want their own!

On busy nights, be sure to make reservations.

Oh, and given how small the restaurant is, you'll find the seating near the door affords an unpleasant draft in winter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meal experiences ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

loved the atmosphere, great low lighting. Tables are very close together but the lighting made it not feel cramped. Amazing, authentic food, great service, interesting wines. I loved this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing