We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Stuart Street
Transit: Arlington Street (Green Line), Boylston Street (Green Line) or New England Medical Center (Orange Line) “T” stop.
Description: Calling all gormands and oenophiles! This Legal Sea Foods' location in Boston's Theater District, surrounded by hotels and nearby Newbury Street, Copley Square and Boston Common, offers an expanded wine menu - 40 pages in all. Just inside you'll see a two-story cascading fountain, the center-piece of the restaurant. Splash down in our dining room or make waves in our comfortable lounge three fathoms below. Our award-winning Wine Cellar, which holds over 10,000 bottles and 800 different labels, is also downstairs. Call ahead and ask our wine steward for a tour. Those who like to 'wine and dine' are in luck because our working Cellar doubles as private dining space for social and corporate functions.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

So I'm a traveler and Legal is a chain, but it's always great food, atmosphere and value for the money. Fish chowder here is amazing! Crab cake is large and very fresh. Consistent, yummy, elegant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Libraluvsaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    411
    179
    72
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went there twice. First time we weren't hungry, so we had two appetizers. Oysters legal was so good! Popcorn shrimp was pretty good also. But the deserts were beyond amazing. Chocolate layer cake was good, but not great. The pumpkin cheesecake was my favorite! It was not so sweet, but that's the way I liked it.

The second time we had a baked lobster. There were a lot of mussels and clams underneath the lobster, so it was worth the price. We also had clam chowders, but they were just all right. Fried oysters were good, but not as good as the oysters legal.

Overall quite good, and the service was pretty good. It would always be a dependable choice if you want some good seafood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Cheathru Rua
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited various different Legal Seafoods over the years and have always found the food good but not as spectacular as the prices charged would suggest.

What is it with $10 for glasses of wine?!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MairinAnCheathruRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
392 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“dependable”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I think Legal Seafood has the best clam chowder in town and we go there for it. However, they also have a good menu of fresh seafood. my wife always gets the whole lobster, and i get oysters, clams, and a daily fish dish. the wine list is adequate and the service has always been good. a little upscale version of the typical Legal, but not stuffy. never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My crabcakes were pretty good, my girlfriend's shrimp were not. Four over-salted blobs of semi-fried dough encased shrimp for 26 bucks. Service was really bad, we both couldn't understand the waiter, he dropped things several times, was very slow, and brought the appetizer out with the meal. We had the shrimp taken off the bill, the manager was nice about it, but we were left completely unimpressed with Legal Seafood & won't go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank InquiringMind99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing