We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place For a Pint”

M. J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
M. J. O'Connor's Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: MJ O'Connor's is a modern Irish pub where you can gather with friends to linger over an inventive menu and late night bites. Grab a seat at our lively bar or relax in our cozy dining room for a modern take on traditional pub dining.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Place For a Pint”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The service was very good and price was reasonable. We went to have a pint and watch the hockey playoffs. It was a bit crowded at the bar so we had to wait a few minutes for a table.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    163
    89
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great martini!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an upscale Irish pub theme restaurant. I sat at the bar and had a classic martini that was great. The bartender was quick and friendly. I didn't eat dinner but others at the bar seemed to enjoy their meals. Typical pub menu with slight upscale recipes and presentation. The decor was lots of wood and very clean with fresco paintings on the ceiling and walls.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenNY717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere; good location”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As Mr. Nixon said, I want to make one thing perfectly clear: I did not eat any food in this pub. I dropped in on two occasions for a quick glass of wine at the bar in the early evening. This is a review of the ambiance, service, and bar scene.

O'Connor's is a friendly, cozy, appropriately dimly-lit establishment of the generic Irish type, though being in Boston, it has a tinge more genuineness than most. I dropped in there a couple of times and was not tempted to eat; though the happy hour menu (4-7) was inexpensive, there was nothing there that I could eat because I was going through one of my episodic vegan phases at the time.

Though I cannot write about the quality and flavor of the food, I can indeed write about the choice of food that was available, which was normal Irish pub fare. In all likelihood dishes such as boxty wedges with cheese dip and mini-sausages are both traditionally Irish and delicious, but they were off my personal radar. A vegan choice or three should, as a matter of principle, be available, in view of the exponentially increasing number of people adopting the vegan lifestyle, at least on an episodic basis.

Instead of food, I enjoyed a bright, fruity and reasonably priced glass or two of Cabernet at the bar. Service was prompt and attentive. Regrettably, I have forgotten the waitron's name, but he was excellent.

Had a number of healthier food choices been available, I would certainly have eaten there, and the establishment would have enjoyed an above-average rating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner Out”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simple menu that has something for everyone. Friendly staff and good food. Great for dinner or a late night snack.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GirlAndHerShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

BEST Chicken Tenders!!!!! we ate fish and chips and a mixed salad. The chicken Tenders and Fish were in a beer batter that was crispy and light. WE LOOOOOOVED them. Wasn't happy i ordered a salad after i tasted the chicken as an appetizer. Very cool bar scene and in a great location. walking distance from the convention center and boston common. Service was great as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M. J. O'Connor's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to M. J. O'Connor's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing