We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it's a Thursday in June, it must be lunch at Bangkok Blue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Blue Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Bangkok Blue Thai Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Back Bay
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“If it's a Thursday in June, it must be lunch at Bangkok Blue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Every two years when we visit Boston for the Boston Early Music Festival, the group I'm in, after our midday performance at Gordon Chapel, moves next door en masse to Bangkok Blue. It's been the tradition for many years now. The funny thing is, the restaurant still doesn't know what to do when all of a sudden 20+ people invade their lunch service!

So it does take a while for the food to come, and we have to keep on top of the wait staff to make sure they don't forget an occasional person's entree, all in all, the food is really good, very well priced for the Back Bay, and we enjoy ourselves tremendously.

So if you walk in there on a Thursday in June for lunch, and the place is packed - yep, that's us. Loyal to our traditions, and very fond of the yummy Thai food at Bangkok Blue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    35
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent Thai food at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I picked up some entrees from here at a carry-out. I had the Pad Thai, Basil Chicken and the Marala curry, both which were good. This is not the best Thai food I have had, but it is a good value and pick-up is quick, so is a good place to grab food if you are in the Back Bay area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank futureconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was right beside our Charlesmark hotel and we enjoyed a dinner meal. Nothing spectacular but good Thai flavours for reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tasty and flavorful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is my second trip and review of BB on Boylston. The service is efficient and friendly. On the rainy Sunday night of this visit we enjoyed spring rolls and edamame as starters. I would have enjoyed a spicy sauce for the spring roles, but the sweeter sauce is good too. Dinner was basil fried rice, masaman curry with tofu and the vegetarian curry with extra heat. I will say that this is one of the very restaurants that give actually make the dish super spicy if you ask. I really love it that way, so thanks! Not a fan of the Thai sweet tea, but the others at the table loved it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai food with ample vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This restaurant is adjacent to the Charlesmark Hotel, 1/2 block from the Copley Square Green Line station. The food was excellent, with most choices having a vegetarian option. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Blue Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing