We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good take out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Duck

Chilli Duck
Ranked #431 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Back Bay
rural ak
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very good take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We ordered the vegetable pad Thai, Chili duck, spring roll with peanut sauce, and crispy crab dragoon. All were very good. We will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    55
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eh, it made my stomach hurt.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I didn't get the noodle dishes. I was weigh too adventurous and ordered some crunchy curry duck thing. OOPS BIG MISTAKE. My stomach hurt for like 20 minutes!

Do yaself a favor and get the noodles!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank topher_anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I only did take-out, but it was fantastic!! Fast and good!! The Pad Thai was some of the best I ever had and the thom-kha (spelling?) was so good I am not sure I have had better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pansysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the new 18% gratuity!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family has eaten numerous times at Chilli Duck, sometimes as often as once a week when we visit our son in Boston for an extended period. While the service is friendly and efficient and the food decent if unremarkable, I feel the need to mention our 2 most recent visits where we were surprised by an 18% gratuity added to our bill. Some weeks ago, we dined at Chilli Duck with our son and daughter and our son's girlfriend. For the first time, we noticed the 18% gratuity on our bill. When we mentioned this to the waitress, we were informed that it was because there were 5 of us. We were a bit taken aback as we did not consider a party of 5 to be especially large, but we paid the hefty bill without comment. Flash forward to last Saturday when we again ate there with our son and daughter. After a worse than usual meal, we again noticed the 18% gratuity added to the bill. This time, when we brought it to the waiter/manager's attention, we were told incomprehensibly that they were "working on that"-whatever that was supposed to mean and that it was because we were a "party of four"!! Now we felt duped and my husband returned to the manager (or gentleman at the cash) and pointed out that only a couple of weeks before, we had been told that the gratuity was added for a party of 5 or more. He continued to beat around the bush and finally we just paid the the bill and left. We have eaten our last meal at Chilli Duck because of their sneaky tactics. We were frequent and known customers who always left a proper tip and we are very disappointed by this turn of events. If they have been stiffed on tips too many times for large parties and feel they need to add the 18% then fine, but I feel that this should be mentioned on the menu so the customer doesn't find out after the fact. More importantly, we are upset at the fact that we were lied to about "the party of 5" which was then conveniently changed to "party of four" at our next visit. What's next, Chilli Duck? Party of 2? Guess what- there won't be a next time for our family. There are other restaurants in Boston that serve average, americanized Thai food without charging the gratuity and more importantly, without lying to their regular customers. Just a suggestion for the future: customers appreciate it when you are up front with your policies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Give it a go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Looks empty when you first venture downstairs then you feel you can't back out seeing you went down the steps. REALLY glad we didn't turn and run. Fab food and service, very attentive waiter and waitresses re filling iced water as they passed allowed plenty of time to choose no pressure to decide. Food fast to table and plentiful not to mention tasty. Give it a go

Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilli Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing