We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis Red Sea Ethiopian Restaurant

Addis Red Sea Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #1,429 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South End
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
289 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been here several times and each time I find the food amazing. I do feel that the items tend to be different from time to time (even though they are under the same name). Perhaps this is me being forgetful. Either way, their vegetarian combo is excellent as well as their honey wine. Make sure you specify which honey wine you want otherwise they will give you the most expensive one! The service is ok, staff is friendly. We have enjoyed each of our visits here. I recommend making a reservation. We had a reservation at 7pm and there weren't many people but by 9pm, when we left, there was a huge line waiting to get in!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    44
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food amazing, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I would still give this 3 stars because the food is awesome and cheap, but the service knocks off a solid 2 stars.

Too much waiting around for checks, food, and waters. When the water came, it was spilled. I guess isolated incidents can't really speak much for the restaurant as a whole, but I am going back tonight to retry. Will update review after!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shams A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious ethnic food in the heart of South Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went to Addis Red Sea based on the previous trip advisor reports. We were not dissapointed and you won't be either. This restaurant was one of the highlites of our recent Boston vacation. To start with, the restaurant is a little hard to find (It is on the lower level of the building), about a one mile walk from the Boston Public Gardens, no "T" near by, but plenty of buses. The neighborhood is a beautiful area of brownstones, shops and many restaurants that we enjoyed walking through after dinner to get to the "T".
When we walked in to Addis, the first thing we noticed was a smell of incense. The smell was wonderful and set the mood. The tables and chairs are all low to the ground, some of the chairs have backs, and some are stools with pads. The art is beautiful. At this restaurant be prepared to eat with your hands, no silverware to be had. We are a family of four, two adults and two kids, ages 10 and 12. We ordered an appetizer (Dibulbul Tips) along with three entrees. One chicken(Doro Wot), one lamb (Yegeb Alcha) and one beef (Kitfo). We tried to order three different flavors without ordering anything spicy (My wfe is very sensitive to spicy food), we were successfull. The lamb was cubed and sauteed in ginger with a brown sauce, the chicken was a little spicy, it was dark meat sauteed in a slightlyu spicy marinade. The beef we ordered was the steak tartar, it was supposed to be spicy, but they made it non-spicy upon our request. The food comes out on a large tray, placed on ethiopian bread. You use the bread to eat the food with and to soak up the excess sauce. They will give you more bread, just ask.
The menu shows a nice selection of Ethipoian beer and wine, but unfortunately they were out of the beer, and only had the sweet wine. The wine was excellent. For soda, they serve Coca Cola products, no Pepsi (Yay!!). All in all, this meal was outstanding, a great value for the money and gives you an authentic taste of Ethiopia.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very great authentic Ethiopian restaurant...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Important: they open at 5pm during week day...

One of the best Ethiopian restaurant I've been to...

Great food, ambiance and service...

They have the traditional tables and delicious authentic food...

A real must if you're not afraid eating with your hands and if you can appreciate food from other countries and different unique taste...

Give them a try !!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun for a group...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Eating ethipian food is always more fun with a group when you can share dishes. The food was very good and reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Red Sea Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Red Sea Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing