We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters”
Review of B & G Oysters

B & G Oysters
Reserve with OpenTable
B & G Oysters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Waltham
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great oysters”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great food, especially the chocolate dessert special. Out of this world. The hostess recommended a great bottle of wine that complimented our dinner and of course the oysters were very fresh and tasty!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    173
    65
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very impressive. Another Barbara Lynch success.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had lunch here during restaurant week, 3 courses prix fixe with good choices. Clam chowder has always been one of my favorites and this place served the best that I have ever had. It was not drowned with milk or cream, pancetta added a very nice twist. Yum! Scallops cooked to perfection. Chocolate mousse terrific. Wine pairing suggestion just perfect. Wait staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Liked watching chefs do their thing in open kitchen. Sorry it took so long to get to this place. Will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elenute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything about b and g was just okay.....service, food, atmosphere. We ate a variety of oysters and had calamari (which was good) and fried clams (good). Nothing super exciting. Super small restaurant, so wouldn't expect to get in without reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nashnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, excellent wine list”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went here for a Sunday lunch with coworkers while visiting Boston for business. We ate our fill in raw oysters and clams, and they have great Muscadet and Chablis that pairs incredibly well with shellfish.

I also highly recommend the crab BLT sandwich, whoa! And it's big enough to share (which I did).

Our server was outstanding, he anticipated our needs and was always on-the-ball.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, exceptional preparation”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely ambiance, both indoors and on the terrace. My favorite appetizer is the fried oysters. I have never been disappointed with any of the fish dishes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B & G Oysters also viewed

 

Been to B & G Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing