We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had an excellent Thankgiving turkey dinner”
Review of Top of the Hub

Top of the Hub
Reserve with OpenTable
Top of the Hub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield and Gloucester
Transit: Prudential Stop on the Green line or Copley/Back Bay Station (10 minute walk)
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I had an excellent Thankgiving turkey dinner”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A previous reviewer posted there bad experience with the Thanksgiving turkey dinner. I also had a Turkey dinner during Thankgiving and had an excellent meal and experience. The service was outstanding, the meal was perfect and of very high quality and out drinks were excellent. We had a window seat in the bar area for a 3pm reservation and the views were superb on this day. Not a cloud in sight and great visibility. We were delighted with our dining experience from start to finish. Not sure what happened with the previous reviewer, but I urge them to try it again next year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    632
    282
    108
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
“Not this year!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hi,

I wanted to take a moment and express our disappointment with dinner this year. We have gone in the past regularly with our family close by.

This year we felt the chef must have had the day off. The turkey was hard, chewy, and SALTY. WOW. The sides were nicely done as usual but the turkey was a mess. We felt the desserts were a disappointment as well. We splurge to enjoy dessert but this year it would have been an insult to waste the calories on tasteless cheese cake and Creme Brulee.

The meals were served nicely and as requested with the exception of one where we asked to hold the gravy. We felt it was not the server but in the kitchen because she was so attentive.

We love your place but at $63/pp plus wine and drinks for usually 7, 5 this year I don't think we will be back next year.

Lets get back to the basics.

Tom Mullarney

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Who are these people?”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First of all, I would like to take a look at the 40 people who say that the Top of the Hub is "poor" & the 26 who said it was "terrible". I have a feeling that they are more accustomed to say, McDonald's prices. You get what youy pay for and how anyone could give such a revue makes it clear that they shouldn't be giving one. Yes, it's not cheap but the food, drinks, service & atmosphere is tops, period!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygee43Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great View....Poor attitude”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

You can't beat the view here. Stopped by on a Sat afternoon with my wife to have a drink to celebrate 35 years
. All the window seats were taken but after being seated 2 opened up. We asked ourr waiter if we could move to one (whichever one he was servicing) but he told us no. He said we would have to find the hostess and get on a list and wait unitl we were called. My wife went over and spoke to the hostess who had no idea what our waiter was talking about but said we were more than welcome ot move. Huh?

Pricey but the brie appetizer was good and we left happy but would never used that waiter again if we return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daltjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“tops of boston”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

be prepared to spend some $$$ for this awesome view of boston, IF you do come here at sunset to watch the sunset and lights of boston. IF you want to be cheap, just stop by the bar for drinks! worth the price of that 8.00 beer!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank boston_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Hub also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing