We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquitaine

Aquitaine
Reserve with OpenTable
Aquitaine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #156 of 3,186 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Union Park and Tremont Street
Transit: The MBTA #43 stops at our front door at 569 Tremont Street
Description: Award winning Parisian inspired French bistro located in the heart of Boston's South End, overlooking historic Tremont Street.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner. Reception not welcoming and accommodating, even with reservation. Wait staff very good and food was good. Would return, just hope for better welcome.

Helpful?
Thank brewster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    104
    44
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Three times, all excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My third time to Aquitaine in the south end and each has been memorable. Maybe it's the combination of excellent French-oriented food with excellent French burgundy. That makes for a winning combination nearly all by itself. But the staff are excellent, well-trained and helpful, and the ambience itself is elegant. Not cheap, but it's clear what the money is buying. This is not true at all expensive restaurants.

The filet au poivre is to kill for. Lamb, excellent. Escargots, oh yes please. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyday was spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It really did remind me of eating in France (except the service was better then France). My mother and my boyfriend got a cozy booth in the back. Our waiter was very nice and professional. We got a bottle of Cote De Rhone, which was pricey but very good (not chilled like in France, but still good). For apps, we got escargot and mussels. Both were probably the best I've ever had.
For dinner my mom had the special - scallops, which melted in your mouth. I got the peppercorn steak which was cooked perfectly. My boyfriend got the pork which was probably the most tender pork I've eaten. The chocolate cake for dessert was perfection as well. I would definitely recommend going to Aquitaine if in Boston. It is located on a nice street with lots of other restaurants and bars if you wanted to go for a drink elsewhere. Plus it seemed like it was full of local which is always a good sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffiebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Paris in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Parisian bistro style in Boston,really good and experienced staff with an interesting menu.Wines expensive but thats also where these restaurants ,especially in USA help make their way.Really a comfortable experience,a special place for special occasions

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T0ny1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$10 Prix Fixe Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have brunch at Aquitaine on Saturdays, or make a reservation for Sunday between the hours of 10am and 12a.m. and you will receive a $10 prix fixe brunch menu.

The prix fixe option includes coffee, pastry, fresh OJ or grapefruit juice, your choice of plate from the menu which includes delicious omelettes, french toast, etc. If you're watching your calories, you can order your omelette with egg whites only for $1-2 extra.

Although this place is typically pricy, their brunch is an excellent value if you know when to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing