We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty close to perfect”
Review of Aquitaine

Aquitaine
Reserve with OpenTable
Aquitaine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #170 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Union Park and Tremont Street
Transit: The MBTA #43 stops at our front door at 569 Tremont Street
Description: Award winning Parisian inspired French bistro located in the heart of Boston's South End, overlooking historic Tremont Street.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty close to perfect”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Lovely meal at Aquitaine in early August. Service was top-notch, friendly and informative. Beautiful decor. Food was quite good and mostly quite authentic. I was surprised at how American its cocktail menu was (no real French aperitifs listed) and certainly the portion sizes are triple what one would find in France, but when in Boston, eat as the Bostonians do, I suppose. The pissaladiere was excellent. Not as expensive as I expected, and although the wines are pricey, they're very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CakeNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    108
    44
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great French bistro”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A favorite, reliable choice for a special dinner with French-style food, in a lovely, historic Boston neighborhood. Hard to bring myself to order anything other than the excellent steak au poivre with gratineed potatoes, although other dishes have also been great. Friendly, helpful, professional, non-snobby service. Lovely cozy space.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secluded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Darling French Bistro”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate from the "Beat the Rush" menu for dinner.

Pros: Very cute decor. Good service. Food was delicious. Reasonable prices.

Cons: We really enjoyed it; no cons we can think of.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fourfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The South End location offers a beautiful setting and delicious food and good service. We had an anniversary dinner there and thought we were back in France. This is a nice special occasion kind of place.

Helpful?
Thank mossboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“French food and fun!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is fairly small, and the tables are close to one another, but that did not have any negative impact on our great experience -- actually, it enhanced it! Our meal was delicious, service was great, wine was wonderful, and many reasonably priced options. There was a lot of energy that evening, being Saturday night and full up, but it was contagious and added to our enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing