We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple pizza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #174 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Singapore
Level Contributor
264 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simple pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just re-iterating what all the other reviewers are sharing. It's a basic pizza, part of a chain, you get decent service, normal food, and various options to choose. It's in the Prudential mall, but a sit-down place vs. the mall's food court.

Personally, if I go here, it's for the BBQ chicken chopped salad, not pizza. For nicer places, there are other options very close nearby.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    134
    66
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pizza in chains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I checked the menu online. It's dizzying. The specials flip by and it took more than one try to get the names right. Combos are ongepotchket; in Yiddish, meaning excessively decorated but not in a bad way; it's merely descriptive. Many things come with long lists of ingredients plus ranchito sauce.

I tried to find out what ranchito sauce is and I'm not the only one. Scores of eaters have typed this into Google and so far: "It is the sauce used for their avocado egg rolls." It doesn't matter and I'm sure it tastes good. We had chicken Milanese. It was fine, yet boring, with an edge of sweetness that was not what I was expecting.

Because it's a pizza kitchen, I had "original crust traditional cheese pizza." You can have "crispy thin crust" for an additional $1.50. Anyway, the pizza was fine with an edge of sweetness. Go figure.

If you have food restrictions, their allergen menu is outstanding. Everything's listed by offender in a chart online.

Will I go back? Here's what they say on the the take-out menu: "It's always about innovative recipes brought to life with fresh, high quality ingredients. It all begins with passionate people and California creativity and ends with unforgettable flavor." Self-touting makes me need to lie down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Who doesn't love pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want to try different versions of pizzas or other menu options, you'll enjoy! Just a little on the pricey side, though.

Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is what it is - CPK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Good pizza, lively dining experience, along the Copley-Prudential shopping 'mall.' The menu includes a lot of funky combinations for a pizza, but they seem to work.

Helpful?
Thank BostonBeanTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
352 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Can't Figure it Out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not really sure why this place has the appeal it does - the food, service, and atmosphere are mediocre but the location is convenient to most of downtown Boston including the Theater District. But there are better places to eat in the area as well. Go if you must but do not expect anything special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OMNISCIENT_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing