We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Beacon Hill Bistro

Beacon Hill Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Beacon Hill Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #452 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Beacon Hill
Transit: MGH/Charles & Arlington
Description: Raised mahogany paneling, banquette seating, mosaic tile flooring, etched glass, discrete mirrors and a large fireplace help to create a refined and comfortable bistro environment on Charles Street in Beacon Hill. A true urban neighborhood venue, The Beacon Hill Bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. While breakfast and lunch have an American/International flavor, at dinner the accent is decidedly French. Jason Bond crafts menus calling on modern bistro cuisine, “striving to balance tradition with modern tastes and techniques.” The Bistro also serves late-night dinners until 11:00 p.m. for the after-theatre, symphony, and film crowd. And, of course, Sunday brunch.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beacon Hill Bistro is on charming Charles street at the foot of Beacon Hill. The food is fabulous. Whether you want something creative or traditional, both options are available and both are delicious. The service is exceptional and the atmosphere is, at the same time, cozy and elegant.

The only downside is that it can be noisy because the tables are in close quarters.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatChance_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    56
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had a special pork bolinaise with home made tagliatelle - amazing. I wish I could get that all the time. Great wine list. Went with friends and had a blast. Tables are tight and I think the people next to us we're not thrilled at how loud we were laughing but oh well. Good service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went here for brunch on 12/15 around 1:30. Service was average at best. The waitress forgot our coffee as she was too busy setting up her tables for night service- annoying Food was ok...I wasn't impressed. I would go somewhere else next time.

On a side note the bathroom was disgusting downstairs!! Management needs to step up their game at this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jryan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Disappointing Thanksgiving!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Made a reservation for thanksgiving dinner. The restaurant was very noisy, tables were very crowded together, service was terrible. Our food was mediocre for the cost.
Our vegetable arrived as we were finishing our dinner. We won't go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanSpruceHeadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A favorite spot stands the test of time”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriends and I started meeting for drinks at BHB several years ago. We've celebrated big announcements, consoled losses, and enjoyed time together. Always with consistently good food, great service, and a warm and cozy atmosphere which suits our needs perfectly.

I expanded by visits to BHB to become my go-to meeting spot for breakfast meetings. It is an easy place to have a longer meeting, it has great food (and huge portions) and the leg up to all other "fine dining breakfast" locations like the Four Seasons and the Taj? I don't feel guilty picking up the tab either to treat a colleague or to expense a business meeting.

This past Sunday, groggy from the time-change and tired from a wedding the night before, my husband and I decided to take advantage of the city and stroll to brunch. BHB, as always, offered just the right amount of choices....and great food. Forgoing the typical brunch-fare of eggs or pancakes, we opted to split the chicken club and the smoked salmon platter. Both were beautifully presented and delicious. It was his first brunch and I know that it was quickly added to his list of places to go in the future.

Service, as always, was fantastic and prompt...but never rushed. We know they like to turn over the tables at brunch and there was a line of patrons waiting for our table, but we never felt like they wanted us to leave.

Kudos, Beacon Hill Bistro, for being a go-to spot from my single days as a 20-something to my now married days as a 30-something...and a place I know I'll return for many other milestones to come.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttoHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Hill Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Hill Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing