We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden patio with delicious food and excellent service!”
Review of Piattini Wine Cafe

Piattini Wine Cafe
Ranked #135 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden patio with delicious food and excellent service!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I took my mother for a day on Newbury Street. We made a reservation and got there early. The patio made for good people watching. The prosciutto appetizer was wonderful. We each got a panini and they came with side salads. You get amazing bread with the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    139
    40
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian "Tapas"”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

On Newbury Street: The food was excellent. we had four different small pasta and antipasto plates. Plenty for two. Very good wine selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mau3ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good sidewalk dining on Newbury St.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We wanted to sit outside for drinks and appetizers on a Saturday evening, but all along Newbury Street each place we stopped required a dinner order for outside. We kept walking and ended up at Piattini, where we'd never been. They didn't have the entree requirement, so we got a wonderful little patio corner table where we could people-watch and enjoy the last of the sun. The appetizers were outstanding and the wine recommendation was excellent. Fast and friendly service. Definitely will go back for a full dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly mediocre”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was disappointed given the reviews I had read for this restaurant. The wine was good, and there is certainly a good selection. Our server however was not of any help in that regard - nice guy - just no knowledge of wine.

For dinner my dining companion and I shared four small plates - two raviolis, a gnocchi, and an order of mussels. The mussels were actually quite good. But the other three were a big disappointment.

The Lobster Ravioli was the best of the three, but was still somewhat bland and nothing special. The other was a veal and sage ravioli in marsala sauce - I was so unimpressed with this one. The filling was pasty in consistency and the marsala sauce was cloying.

The weakest of the lot was a spinach gnocchi. It was so disappointing. I am not a gourmet chef by any means, but making good, fresh pesto is really so simple - even jarred pesto would have been better than this one, it was again so bland that my friend and I were actually puzzled. We asked for grated parm (sort of surprising we had to ask for that), and that helped - but it was still such a lackluster dish.

Perhaps this was on off night, but having so many of the dishes hit such low notes, I doubt I'll try this place again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich_in_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great value, ambience and food”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I really enjoyed this lovely little wine restaurant which I happened upon without a reservation. The service was friendly and helpful, the food delicious and delicately flavored (especially the butternut squash ravioli), and the value was impressive. I loved it and would definitely return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piattini Wine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Piattini Wine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing