We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopping place with great food and fairly priced wines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abe & Louie's

Abe & Louie's
Reserve with OpenTable
Abe & Louie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
619 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Hopping place with great food and fairly priced wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The staff is prompt, efficient, and humorous. The interior is wood-paneled clubby, a la Cheers. Warm and boisterous in character, everyone is having a good time. I loved the reasonably-priced wine list(50% mark up). My wife and I opted for 7 pounds of steamed lobster perfection and finished by splitting a delicious butterscotch bread pudding. The breadsticks were a super-savory treat as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    363
    138
    68
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good! No kidding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you pay $175 for a meal for 2 the reviews tend to follow 2 thoughts A) it is excellent or B) very critical because the reviewer was very critical about food or service for the price. I found it excellent in spite of the fact that I would never pay this much for a meal in my home town... Something about being on vacation. A&L met all my needs except a gorgious view of the city. The facility is comfortable overall and an issue rarely reported in restaurant reviews is that the chairs are comortable for my frame of 265 lbs. I HATE paying a ton of money for good food and service but sit on a bottle cap for an hour. The food as excellent and the portions were large enough to satisfy anyone. The bone in ribeye is 1.5 lbs! Wine by the glass will not break you at $11 each. The Abe and Louie salad is a must and the sides are wonderful. This was all served with professionalism and attention to detail. You will Love it. It works for 2 people or larger parties. Most guests dress up but you will not feel uncomfortable in clean dockers and polo shirt. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lowrey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had great hopes about this restaurant. On the positive side, the location and decor which are great and the service which was good. The food was decent but it was overpriced and the restaurant was extremely noisy. One of the worst I have ever dined in. Too many tables and too closed to one another. One has to shout to be heard. It is definitively not a place to have a romantic dinner. As far as high end steakhouse is concerned Ruth's Chris steakhouse is better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 120CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
572 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks though I miss the Ruth's Chris sizzle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Three of us had a business/social meeting at Abe & Louie's on a Saturday night. We booked over a month in advance but still had to accept a 6:15 seating, as apparently this downtown steak house is that popular with Bostonians.

My appetizer cup of clam chower ($5) was wonderful, as was a black bean soup ($5) that another of our party ordered.

I loved my Ketel One vodka martini ($10.50), served up in a tall glass cylinder immersed in ice, so that it didn't get watered down.

We enjoyed the steaks completely. My 16 oz. New York strip ($46) was perfectly cooked to order, with a nice crust, although I must say I miss the hot plates and sizzling presentation that Ruth's Chris offers. By the end of my meal, my steak was cold. We also ordered a 10 oz. Filet ($43) and 24 oz. bone-in Ribeye ($47).

The sides with the steak were good, but not exceptional. My handcut fries ($8) looked better than they tasted, and my associates didn't finish their mashed potatoes with bleu cheese ($8) or the brussel sprouts ($9).

The atmosphere was typical upscale steak restaurant, bustling and loud.

Our waiter (Sam P) came across as a little condescending, but otherwise the service was excellent.

Our meal for three, with two cocktails, one salad, two cups of soup, one bottle of Rutherford Merlot (excellent but a little overpriced at $52), three entrees, three sides and one espresso came to $275 before our usual general tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Whilst in Boston we visited Abe & Louie's a couple of times. It was obviously good enough to bring us back. This isn't fine dinning, it's good steaks, sandwiches and burgers. The waiters are efficient but don't offer any more than getting the dishes and drinks to and from the table.

It's the relaxed atmosphere, nice long bar, comfortable booths and good burger that had me returning.

Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe & Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Abe & Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing