We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient pre-theater dining, so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Teatro Restaurant

Teatro Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Teatro Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 3,188 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Avery Street
Transit: Boylston/Green Line
Description: Teatro Restaurant is defined by its vibrant, casual elegance in both atmosphere and food. Nestled in Boston's Theater District, Chef Jamie Mammano takes a contemporary approach to classic Italian dishes, offering craft cocktails and fine wine. The seasonal menu boasts fresh pasta, grilled thin crust pizza, charcuterie, fresh seafood and specialty meats prepared with the utmost care in our open kitchen. Whether out on the town with friends, or off to a nearby theater with a date, Teatro lends its grace to any occasion.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient pre-theater dining, so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I am kind of surprised at the excellent reviews overall for Teatro.

My husband and I ate here before seeing Book of Mormon at the Boston Opera House. It was an excellent location for a short walk to the theater afterward, and pleasant ambiance. We found the food very so so though. I had a steak which was greasy and salty, and the same could be said of my husband's risotto. (Oily and salty). For the price and plethora of other dining options in Boston I would not recommend to a friend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CillaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    135
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had looked at several restaurant in the area with many different reviews, but this one caught my eye, probably due to the Italian menu which is a favorite of mine. Some of the reviews said it was noisy here, but what I found was general conversations going on, none louder than others and the acoustical panels keep all within perspective! Fabulous wait staff, appetizers were fantastic and a bit different than normal, entrées were wonderful, wine selection was great, if I had only had room for dessert it would have finished a wonderful experience at Teatro. This is a top notch restaurant that was packed, but comfortable, and had superior wait staff and well prepaired food for the theater crowd. Don't miss a great meal for a good price, sit and enjoy. Bon ,appetite :) I will return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DazzleyourPalete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect place, before or after the show!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Right in the middle of Boston's lively theater district, Teatro is a surprisingly elegant dining room, luxuriously decorated in soft silvery tones, with high ceilings, romantic lighting, and upbeat music. Real Italian food, made with excellent ingredients carefully prepared, and a fantastic wine list with lots of offerings by the glass or carafe. The perfect place, before or after the show --

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmedesevigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner before the theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

On Tremont St a half block from the Colonial Theater and 2 blocks from the Citi/Wang, Teatro is in a great location for the pre/after theater crowd. We got last minute tickets from a friend and wanted to do early dinner before a 7pm showing. We booked a 5:45 reservation through Open Table, so we wouldn't have to rush out to the show.

We arrived at 5:30 and were able to be seated early. It was a Wednesday evening, and there were lots of tables available. The waiter brought menus, water, took our wine order. The menu has pizzas, salads, pasta and entrees. The real nice thing is that you can have small plates, not just full meals. The caesar and the Bolognese and the terrific bread was more than enough for a pre show dinner. The salad and pasta were excellent. The funny thing was that our friend who gave us the show tickets hadn't told us, but they had planned to go to Teatro if they were to see the show. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMHvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service, good food and mediocre ambiance.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived at Teatro for our pre-show dinner and were seated immediately. The service was outstanding from beginning to end. The white grape cosmo was not very good although the wine selection was wonderful. We had the antipasto for an appetizer and it was quite good, nice sampling of a variety of foods. I had the swordfish which was very good, not great. The garlicky spinach was terrible while the cauliflower side was quite good. The real negative to this restaurant is the noise level and the close proximity to other diners.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgetnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing