We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of flavour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teatro Restaurant

Teatro Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Teatro Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Avery Street
Transit: Boylston/Green Line
Description: Teatro Restaurant is defined by its vibrant, casual elegance in both atmosphere and food. Nestled in Boston's Theater District, Chef Jamie Mammano takes a contemporary approach to classic Italian dishes, offering craft cocktails and fine wine. The seasonal menu boasts fresh pasta, grilled thin crust pizza, charcuterie, fresh seafood and specialty meats prepared with the utmost care in our open kitchen. Whether out on the town with friends, or off to a nearby theater with a date, Teatro lends its grace to any occasion.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Full of flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose Teatro based upon TA reviews and glad we did. I had the risotto with mushrooms to start. It was so good I wished I had requested it for main too. The marinated olives were ok but had been marinated in something with orange so had an odd taste. We both had pasta for main course I the bolognese and my wife the shrimps. Both very nice. Not cheap as the 2 starters ( one being olives) plus 2 pastas and their cheapest red bottle was $100. Lovely surroundings and very attentive service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharfieldPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    132
    30
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay to eat there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Service was very quick. Food was good. Just an impersonal feeling. It's not a place that you long to go back to. They move the tables quite quickly. Caesar salad was good, Argula salad was not worth the price, pizza was fine, and the spinach ravioli was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hijeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Teatro is a small upscale Italian eatery located right next to the lowes cinema in the Boston commons. The atmosphere is like no other with a nice aerodesence of blue. The food is unreal. Start with as many appetizers as you can including the arancinis and either the white or red pizza. Then you must try the chicken scalopini. If looking for a great pasta do not hesitate on ordering the rigatoni bolognese. Simply the best I have ever had and I have eaten in Italy itself. Also the squash raviolis are a big liking. Very light and good for an easy meal to go out on in the city. I have tried the other sister restaurants, Moo, Mistral, Soralinas and La Andana and they did not disappoint in any way. Try them all if you can. I am possitive you will leave wanting to return again. Definitely the best restaurants in the area!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonianReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the best restaurant in downtown Boston. The ambiance is lovely&hip and the food is to die for. Check the daily specials or you can close your eyes and point to anything on the menu and I guarantee it will be outstanding. Because everything is so good here, I like to try as many different things as I can. I usually bring my friends here and we get some apps, of course, but we each pick two half-orders ($10.00 each!) for dinner and everyone shares everything, the way some people do at Chinese restaurants. The cocktails are great here too&save room for dessert, homemade gelato.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Tops for Italian in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

What an enjoyable experience! This is a lively place and our dinner was outstanding; tasty, great service... what's more to ask for! Great place for Italian dining. Nice menu. Excellent wine list. We ordered the appetizer portions which were ample. The wait staff was very attentive. We will go back the very next time in Boston. Had a lot of recommendations from our hotel staff, but found the place on UrbanSpoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing