We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a business dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill 23 & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Stuart Street
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great place for a business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I enjoyed a nice business dinner recently at Grill 23. It was an unexpected stopping place but rain and proximity to the hotel made it a must. So without reservations we stopped in. I had the beet salad with goat's cheese and the Tuna Steak Diane. I was not disappointed at all. Everything was so well done and the service was superb!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    274
    105
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best steakhouse in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've been to pretty much all the big names in the US, this tops them all. I don't think it's possible to have a bad meal here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ykaynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Helpful service the moment you walk in the door and friendly. The food was great with large portions and the filet melted in your mouth. The sides were well worth the price. Overall a great dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went here for a dinner with my colleagues and really enjoyed it. Helpful service, good food and a really nice wine list. The steaks were really good, juicy and well-done. Definitely a place to recommend for every sort of customers, family, couples or business related.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alekspacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too bad poorly cooked steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We frequent places with steak often. I had been looking forward to this meal as I've only has the great chips at the bar and my fiancé has always liked the place. The first time out my " medium" filet was purple. The second time out it was rare. The third time out it was burnt rubble. It wasn't til the third time and requesting a manager that someone came out. Our server was very nice but the lack of acknowledgment of messing up when this is something they are supposed to do well was upsetting. I doubt id go back for dinner. Even the brussel sprouts were rather mushy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybugsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 23 & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Grill 23 & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing