We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best steakhouse in the world”
Review of Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill 23 & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 3,229 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Stuart Street
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best steakhouse in the world”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've been to pretty much all the big names in the US, this tops them all. I don't think it's possible to have a bad meal here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    289
    112
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks ever!!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Helpful service the moment you walk in the door and friendly. The food was great with large portions and the filet melted in your mouth. The sides were well worth the price. Overall a great dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went here for a dinner with my colleagues and really enjoyed it. Helpful service, good food and a really nice wine list. The steaks were really good, juicy and well-done. Definitely a place to recommend for every sort of customers, family, couples or business related.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too bad poorly cooked steak”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We frequent places with steak often. I had been looking forward to this meal as I've only has the great chips at the bar and my fiancé has always liked the place. The first time out my " medium" filet was purple. The second time out it was rare. The third time out it was burnt rubble. It wasn't til the third time and requesting a manager that someone came out. Our server was very nice but the lack of acknowledgment of messing up when this is something they are supposed to do well was upsetting. I doubt id go back for dinner. Even the brussel sprouts were rather mushy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grill 23 & Bar- Superb steakhouse”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

A few days ago we celebrated my son's 21st birthday at a place he researched and picked. The place in question is the Grill 23 & Bar in Boston's Back Bay area. It just a couple of blocks from the Prudential Center. The 2 story restaurant is larger than we thought with lots of wood and beautiful Christmas decorations. We were seated in the second floor near the last dining room. There were very few open tables.
After sitting down the waiter explained to us the menu choices and the specials. A basket with several different kind of warm breads was placed in the table. We enjoyed a bottle of Gary Farrell 2010 Chardonnay, Mojito and a Cosmopolitan. As appetizers we tried the fried calamari, crab cakes, truffle tots and french fries. All very tasty and warm. I tried the New England Shellfish Chowder and it was very delicious.
As main course we ordered Beef Tenderloin, Steak Frites, Pan Roasted Sea Scallops, 100 Day Aged 18 oz Ribeye and my choice the Dry Aged New York 14 oz steak. My whole family enjoyed their choices; the food was well prepared and deliciously seasoned. My steak was really tender, juicy and perfectly cooked as med-rare. Our meals had several side dishes that included Brussels sprouts, crab salad, beet salad and shrimp.
For dessert we tasted the Famous Coconut cake and the Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée. Both were excellent choices, very satisfying. For a great finish we drank Heitz Ink Grade Port.
I can say that this dinner is one of my very best anywhere. From the decor, the impeccable service and the very high quality food this is a place to dine for a memorable experience. In terms of cost, it is high but we'll worth it. If you have a special occasion to celebrate, this is the place to go. On average it will cost you around $60-$90 per person not including alcohol. My only negative comment relates to noise level. Unfortunately we were seated next to a group of young prosfessionals that were very loud. Next time I would look for a table in a smaller room. Ask the hostess for quieter location.

Visited December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 23 & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing