We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious tuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill 23 & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Stuart Street
Redbourn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious tuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

After having been recommended this place by 3 separate friends and with located opposite our hotel we knew we had to try it. Realise the specialty is meat but the Tuna here was great!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    276
    106
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Maybe the best steakhouse anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Still the place to which I must go when I am in Boston. The steaks are great, the place is classy. You know why you are there and the staff knows why you are there. They get it and do not disappoint. The shellfish platter a good value and the best anywhere. Still the best steak. Ask for Rob Hall as your server!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thunderbird0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport, ri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal, great steak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The food was fantastic and we both really enjoyed our meals. The service.....unfortunately, not as good as the food. Enjoyable experience and glad we went there, however we both agree we probably won't go back next time we are in boston

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CallChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Grill 23 was recommended by the concierge at our hotel and highly rated on TA. We found it to be less than enjoyable. Our waiter took our appetizer order and entree order at the same time. This indicated to me that he was ready to turn our table fast.
One of the five guests received her beer 20 minutes after we all received our wine.
The lobster tail appetizer was over cooked and a bit rubbery. Disappointing in new England.
Grill 23 is known for their steaks.
I have had better steaks at Longhorn.
My steak arrived cold
No use in complaining because we never saw the waiter again
Our plates sat in front of us after we were finished for about 20 minutes
Needless to say, after spending $500 on the meal I was so disappointed in the whole evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
957 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Grill 23 is a good place for dinner and drinks with friends. It is loud, and not the place for a quiet romantic dinner, but for other events it is fun. The food is excellent and the drinks strong. This is one of the best restaurants in Boston, but be prepared for an expensive night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grill 23 & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing