We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Martini”

OAK Long Bar + Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
OAK Long Bar + Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Dartmouth
Transit: Green Line - Copley Orange Line - Back Bay Station #33 and #55 Buses to Copley Square
Description: Welcome to OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, a stunning American brasserie style restaurant located in the heart of Back Bay in Boston. OAK is a bold, inspired dining concept, bringing you hand crafted, specialty cocktails and a farm-to-table menu featuring locally sourced ingredients.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Martini”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Truly miss the old Oak Room, but the new Oak Long Bar is fantastic. Lots of the old Oak Bar still in place with a brighter ambiance and more relaxed feel.

I ordered my usual martini and I've got to say that this bar still provides one heck of a pour. I had two plus martinis in my ice chilled carafe. Quite a generous pour. Of course the price is in line with the quantity and quality.

Really looking forward to a cold winter's evening here, as the bar has such a winter feel to it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeP71688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello – thank you for sharing your comments with us in this forum. I’m so thrilled to hear that you like our new look! Some classics, like our tableside martini service, of course remain. We’re glad you’re looking forward to returning, and we agree: OAK is a great place to get cozy on a chilly Boston evening. Thanks again for your post, and we’ll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    149
    78
    37
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A classic gone”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wanted to have a drink at the Oak Bar in the Fairmont Copley Hotel but got a big (and bad) surprise. The bar (and the restaurant) have been completely remodeled, to the point we did not recognize our old favorite. Gone was all the comfortable seating, decor, charm, etc. that defined the place. In their stead is a long bar (how creative is the new name?) that extends from what was the old bar area into what was the elegant restaurant. As bad as the renovation is to the bar area, it is 1000 times worse for the restaurant because that restaurant is completely gone. Basically, this new iteration is one big bar with some seating for food and drinks. The high level noise made conversation difficult at best. The former menu is all but gone, including the large martini selection from the old bar. We ordered a burger from the drastically reduced food menu, and then waited 40 minutes for it to come. The waitress was completely absent during this time and overall was probably one of the poorest excuses for wait help we've had the misfortune to endure. Boston is a big loser in this "improvement." It's apparent that hotel wanted a different customer demographic. It worked - we won't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Prof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The renovation has MADE it average!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Oak Bar was splendid, beautiful, and unique. Now, it's trendy and loud...But the drinks and the service are still terrific!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluegrassdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love the remodel”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The newly remodeled bar is gorgeous. They managed to keep the traditional feel but put in modern touches. Great place for drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxuriously relaxing dining in the Copley Fairmont Hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

After a busy day in downtown Boston, we just wanted to relax and have a good meal close to our hotel. We asked the delightful Constance Carman, manager of the Fairmont's Gold Floor for some dinner ideas. She suggested we try their St James Room and graciously made reservations for us while we just sat by the fireplace and enjoyed the baby lambchops and other luscious appetizers set out for Gold Floor guests. After we went back to our room and showered for dinner all we had to do was hop on the elevator and like magic there we were at our destination. The food was excellent and so was the atmosphere. No taxi or car was needed so we avoided the hectic Boston traffic and still had a great meal in downtown Boston. We even had a chance to say hi to the legendary Caty Copley. We just love this hotel and the many extras it offers to guests.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at OAK Long Bar + Kitchen, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Hello! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience dining in the St. James Room. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of renovating our former dining space and a brand-new restaurant will debut in July 2012. I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back to enjoy this exciting new restaurant as well! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to OAK Long Bar + Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing