We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beers, Pub Grub and Pool Tables”
Review of Boston Beer Works

Boston Beer Works
Ranked #291 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Beers, Pub Grub and Pool Tables”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

There are several Boston Beer Works in the greater Boston area - I've been to Canal St., the Fenway location and the one in Salem, MA. Each location has a different vibe, your mileage may vary widely with this local chain.

The Canal St. location is the biggest I've been to. They have two floors, with the bottom floor boasting a very long bar and seating for a pretty big crowd and the top floor having more of a "lounge" feeling with several pool tables and plenty of places to set your drink while you socialize.

Food leaves quite a bit to be desired. Everything is ok, but there's nothing I have had that jumps to mind thinking about the "best dish". Maybe the pizza, but that's nothing to brag about either. Standard fry-o-lator appetizer selection. Decent burgers. They get an "A" for effort on the menu with some creative names but it's a solid "C" in terms of quality and taste. I can't say for certain, but I wouldn't be surprised if this is a stop on the Sysco truck route.

Overall, the beer selection is good, bordering on great. Everything is a house specialty, so engage your waitstaff or bartender to get an idea of the right beer for you. Some favorites of mine include the Watermelon Ale (seasonal and served with a slice of watermelon) and the stout is usually decent.

The pool tables are great.

The one thing this place does extremely well is "Location, Location, Location". Canal St. is between Fanueil Hall and the Boston Garden (where the Celtics/Bruins play) so they're packed anytime there's a game. I wouldn't go out of my way to go here, but if your expectation is to get a decent meal and a beer, you'll do just fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJBGLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    81
    34
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good beers, and burgers.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited on a Sunday night. It was very quiet in Boston and the restaurant wasn't busy. Service was good and the food was good. Beers were great.

Its near the TD Garden, probably not the best neighborhood to be wandering on your own at night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry Northants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas great value”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A good Saturday night vibe . The pizzas were the best ! Thin crust , juicy , tasty , lots of cheese in fact the best we have had for some time . Good service & good beer excellent value .... Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaventryDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice brew pub, decent food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a nice respite from the rain & made for a good couple of hours in a relaxed atmosphere. Service was good, the food was good and according to my husband the beer was pretty good to. I just don't think this place was worthy of being as highly ranked as it seems to be. The food was good, but not great. I got the "filet & frites" which was portrayed as sitting in a nice mushroom sauce. I could barely find that on my plate, but the little that was there was actually the best thing on the plate. The fries & steak were good (though not filet)and the salad was your typical,"from the bag straight to the plate approach. That's usually ok as long as you at least make an effort to blend it with the dressing. Apparently too much effort here. Since it had sat for a while some leaves were soggy yet flavorful while others were in its pristine plastic-bag state.
Also had the pretzel & spicy mustard appetizer because it sounded really nice. I would admit that I am a bit of pretzel snob, but lightly browned pieces of dough with rock salt should not be called pretzel. A pretzel is a beautiful thing, ideally soaked in lye, boiled then baked to a crusty, golden brown perfection. Calling these things pretzel (and yes, seems to be a regional thing) is really an insult to a real on. In addition, the mustard was anything but spicy or a good complement to the dough bits.

Overall a decent meal in a nice atmosphere but nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lagourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Proper beer & an endless choice of fantastic food!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is a longstanding myth in the UK that American beer is weak and tasteless - clearly something said by those who have never been to the many brew pubs and fantastic microbreweries that the USA has to offer! We were converted by the excellent beer on offer in Oregon a number of years ago and were dying to see what Boston has on offer and we were not disappointed!

This place has a great atmosphere there is seating inside and out and an upstairs billiards area (we didn't venture up) the usual screens showing sport but this wasn't intrusive as it can be when you go to some places. Staff were really friendly and helpful, our server was attentive whilst we were there.

There is a long list of beer offering 12-16 on tap every day! Fenway American Pale Ale was fantastic and there's one with Blueberries in it!! Back home it's a pint or a half pint but over here 12, 16 and 22 oz glass makes a change!! The selection is great and they have a 'special' selection for the month aswell.

The menu is absolutely massive with pages and pages of choice (we are Brits so still getting used to it!!) it took us ages to decide from! I had a cup of clam chowder and an El Paso chicken salad which was sooo good, hubby had Bulfinch steak and cheese sandwich, and sis in law had a Quesadilla which was off the starter menu but was big enough as a main course!! All the food was so tasty and fresh, the service with it was great.

We couldn't but help notice everyone elses food going passed us, in particular the hummus plate looked delicious, the steaks and the absolutely giant sharing nachos which they are famous for! Also on the extensive menu is brunch, desserts and 'healthy things!'

Highly recommend this place and we will be back whilst we are in Boston :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mudminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Beer Works also viewed

 

Been to Boston Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing